Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for April 23

Sprint Cup

Event: Toyota Owners 400, Richmond International Raceway; Richmond, Va.

TV: Sunday, 7:30 p.m., Fox.

Then and now: Penske Racing teammates Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski split trips to Victory Lane last season at Richmond. Logano is the defending winner of the spring race, while Keselowski won last summer’s final race before the start of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Interestingly, Jeff Gordon was runner-up in both races. … Speaking of Gordon, he’s still looking for his first win of 2015. Richmond provides him a great venue to earn that first victory, but surprisingly, he has only two career Cup wins at RIR, the last time being summer 2000. … Matt Kenseth comes into Richmond after winning the rain-delayed race at Bristol on Sunday, breaking a 51-race winless streak for the Wisconsin native. Kenseth has won just once in his Cup career at Richmond. … Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano and Martin Truex Jr. all suffered poor outings this past Sunday at Bristol, ending their respective streaks of being the only drivers to have top-10 finishes in each of the first seven races. … Harvick remains atop the Sprint Cup standings, with a 30-point lead over second-ranked Logano, and a 33-point spread over third-ranked Truex Jr. Jimmie Johnson, who roared to a runner-up finish at Bristol, moved into fourth-place in the standings and is 56 points behind Harvick.


Event: Toyota Care 250, Richmond International Raceway; Richmond, Va.

TV: Friday, 7:30 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: Kevin Harvick is the defending winner of this race. Harvick has been one of the most dominant drivers in Xfinity races at RIR. In 26 career starts there, he’s earned 7 wins, 18 top-5 and 21 top-10 finishes. Those 7 wins are the most Xfinity wins Harvick has claimed at any track. … Kyle Busch won last September’s Xfinity race but remains sidelined due to being injured in the season-opening Xfinity race at Daytona on Feb. 21. … Joey Logano is coming off an outstanding performance in the last Xfinity Series race, last Saturday at Bristol Motor Speedway, where he dominated by leading all 300 laps en route to victory. … Defending Xfinity series champ Chase Elliott still has yet to win a race after the first six events of 2015. … Ty Dillon and Chris Buescher come into Friday’s race tied for the lead in the driver standings. Elliott is third, 12 points back, while Darrell Wallace Jr. is fourth, 22 points out of first place.

Verizon IndyCar

Event: Honda Grand Prix of Alabama, Barber Motorsports Park; Birmingham, Ala.

TV: Sunday, 3 p.m., NBCSN.

Then and now: Since its first race in 2010 (won by Helio Castroneves), Barber Motorsports Park has quickly become a popular track on the IndyCar circuit for both drivers and fans alike. It’s been especially welcoming to drivers Will Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay. Power won there in 2011 and 2012, while Hunter-Reay won the last two races there in 2013 and 2014. Hunter-Reay got a huge break in last year’s race, as due to time limits, the race was shortened by 69 laps. Translated, instead of a scheduled 214 miles, only 164 miles were completed when Hunter-Reay took the checkered flag. … As for coming into Sunday’s race, Scott Dixon won the Long Beach Grand Prix this past Sunday for the first time in his career. Dixon led a race-high 44 laps and held off a strong late challenge by Team Penske drivers Castroneves, Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud to take the checkered flag. … Montoya remains atop the IndyCar driver standings but saw his prior 10-point edge over Castroneves cut to just three points. Tony Kanaan is third (26 points back), while Dixon is fourth (32 points back).

Formula 1

Next Event: Spanish Grand Prix, Sunday, May 10, 8 a.m., Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Last Week: Lewis Hamilton won for the third time in four races this season at the Bahrain Grand Prix. He’s also won in Australia and China.

Camping World Truck

Next event: May Kansas Race, Friday, May 8, 8:30 p.m., Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.