Share this article

print logo

2015 Buffalo News/BCANY Awards list of honorees

A gathering of more than 250 at Ilio DiPaolo's was on hand for the fourth annual Buffalo News/BCANY Awards, presented by UNYTS and ADPRO Sports.

Here is a complete list of all those where were honored at the event.

All-BCANY Small Schools

Donel Cathcart-12, Cardinal O’Hara
Xavier Maye-12, I-Prep/Grover
John Piper-12, Fredonia
Derek Cheatom-12, Park
Jordan Nwora-11, Park Bryce Morrison-12, Randolph
Jared Fish-12, Salamanca
Takal Molson-11, St. Mary’s
Kyle Bradley-12, Wilson

All-BCANY Large Schools

TC Brown-11, Amherst
LaTerrance Reed-12, Canisius
Stafford Trueheart-11, Canisius
Dominick Welch-10, Cheektowaga
Devin Morris-12, McKinley Cam Lewis-12, Nichols
Christian Nodine-11, Starpoint
Maceo Jack-11, Williamsville North
Sam Castronova-12, Williamsville South

BCANY WNY Players of the Year

(also earn “Best of BCANY” designation as two of the top 50 players in New York State)

Large School: Zack Panebianco-12, Jamestown
Small Schools: Percy Bryant-12, East

BCANY Coaches Awards

ECIC I Coach of the Year
Ben Drake, Jamestown
ECIC II Coach of the Year
Gabe Michael, Williamsville South
ECIC III Coach of the Year
Chris Kensy, Amherst
ECIC IV Coach of the Year
Jason Przybysz, Cleveland Hill

ECIC Coach of the Year
Gabe Michael, Williamsville South

Monsignor Martin Coaches of the Year
Class A: Kyle Husband, Canisius
Class B: Michael Battaglia, Park

Yale Cup Coaches of the Year
Yale Cup I: Starling Bryant, East
Yale Cup II: Shaunessy Ryan, I-Prep/Grover

Niagara Frontier League Coach of the Year
Ryan Mountain, North Tonawanda

Niagara-Orleans League Coach of the Year
Brennan Meakin, Barker

CCAA I Coach of the Year
Greg Lauer, Fredonia
CCAA II Coach of the Year
Rob Genco, Silver Creek

Charter Schools Coach of the Year
Darren Kresge, Tapestry

BCANY Class AA Coach of the Year
Ben Drake, Jamestown
BCANY Class A Coach of the Year
Kyle Husband, Canisius
BCANY Class B Coach of the Year
Michael Battaglia, Park
BCANY Class C Coach of the Year
Darren Kresge, Tapestry
BCANY Class D Coach of the Year
Shaunessy Ryan, I-Prep/Grover

Note: For a coach (or his players) to be eligible for BCANY Awards, he must be a member of BCANY.

BCANY Milestone Awards

300 WINS
Starling Bryant, East
Ben Drake, Jamestown

400 WINS
Gary Domzalski, Frontier

500 WINS
Jeff Anastasia, Olean

Centercourt Coach of the Year Award
Selected by Chad “Centercourt” Andrews
Kyle Husband, Canisius

Buffalo News/BCANY Press Row Award
Miguel Rodriguez, The Buffalo News

BCANY/IAABO Board 53 Official of the Year
Dan Finucane

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Dick Gallagher
Dennis DiPaolo

Championship Week Awards

A’aron Mungro All-Hustle Team
Named for the 2003 City Honors state champion who packed 7 feet of heart into his 5-10 frame.
Clayton Stanton-12, Albion
Daquan Williams-12, East
Ben Larson-12, Jamestown
Mike Kelleher-12, Maryvale
Ray Blackwell-9, Maryvale

Best Dunk
One-handed poster-izer vs. Tapestry in Class C final
Fred Foster-11, Middle Early College

Best Drive
Unstoppable finish vs. Cheektowaga in A-2 semi
TC Brown-11, Amherst

Best Pass
Blind backwards halfcourt scoop outlet, B-1 final
Austin Loyd-12, Albion

Best Cut
Baseline reverse-layup to win Manhattan Cup
Justin Jones-11, Canisius

Best Moment
Honoring team member following C final
Middle Early College

Glue Guy
This guy did it all to help his team to tremendous season
Randy Golda-12, Park

All-WNY High Honorable Mention

Desmond Blackmon-12, Albion
Zak Ciezki-12, Cheektowaga
Jay Bergmann-12, Frontier
Joseph Staton-11, Middle Early College
Tanner Schmidt-12, Nichols
Chris Woodard-12, North Tonawanda
Kordell Holness-Lightbody-12, St. Francis
DeJuan Owens-12, Tapestry
Nick Parucki-12, West Seneca East
Dylan Lambert-12, Williamsville North

Sixth Man Award
Selected by Chad “Centercourt” Andrews
Myles Hall-11, Williamsville South

2014-2015 All-Western New York Boys Basketball Team

The 57th annual All-Western New York team was chosen by The Buffalo News with an assist from area coaches, officials and voters on The News polls.

First team
G LaTerrance Reed, Canisius 6-3 12
F Stafford Trueheart, Canisius 6-7 11
G Percy Bryant, East 5-11 12
G Zack Panebianco, Jamestown 5-10 12
F Jordan Nwora, Park 6-7 11
Second team
F Dominick Welch, Cheek. 6-4 10
G/F Cam Lewis, Nichols 6-8 12
F Chris Miner, Nichols 6-6 12
G/F Derek Cheatom, Park 6-3 12
C Bill Brooks, Silver Creek 6-7 12
Third team
G TC Brown, Amherst 5-11 11
G Josh Huffman, Canisius 5-10 12
G Devin Morris, McKinley 6-3 12
G Takal Molson, St. Mary’s 6-3 11
G Sam Castronova, Wmsv. S. 6-2 12
Fourth team
F Xavier Maye, I-Prep/Grover 6-3 12
F Stephen Carlson, Jamestown 6-5 12
F Fred Foster, Middle College 6-5 11
G John Piper, Fredonia 6-1 12
G Greg Dolan, Wmsv. South 6-0 9

The Buffalo News Small School Poll Champions
Park Pioneers (23-3), coach Mike Battaglia

The Buffalo News Large School Poll Champions
Canisius Crusaders (25-5), coach Kyle Husband

Allen Wilson Player of the Year Award
Selected by The Buffalo News
Zack Panebianco-12, Jamestown

There are no comments - be the first to comment