Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: March 28

The Airport Bridge Club teaches slam bidding and play at 10:45 a.m. today, Saturday, March 28, followed by an extra-point game at noon. Reservations are requested for the extra-point open pairs game at 1 p.m. Sunday. Call 603-6943.

The club also offers extra-point games all next week, including the ACBL-wide charity game at 11 a.m. Thursday with hand records and analysis.

...

The Toronto Easter Regional Tournament begins Tuesday, March 31, in the International Plaza Hotel, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ont., and continues through Easter Sunday, April 5. For info, click this link.

...

Western New York Unit 116 schedules unit-sponsored games regularly. They include:

Unit pairs game, 10:30 a.m., Monday, April 20, Bridge Club Meridian.

Unit pairs game, 10:30 a.m., Friday, April 24, Bridge Center of Buffalo.

Unit pairs game, 7 p.m., Tuesday, April 28, Lockport Duplicate.

Barometer Pairs game, 7:15 p.m., Monday, May 18, Bridge Club Meridian.

...

Tournament calendar

Rochester Spring Sectional – Webster Recreational Center, 1350 Chiyoda Drive, Webster. Saturday, April 11, and Sunday, April 12. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Friday, April 17, to Sunday, April 19. For info, click this link.

Burt Garrell Upstate New York Regional – R.I.T. Inn & Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, West Henrietta (Rochester). Monday, May 11, to Sunday, May 17. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Holiday Inn (Cleveland) South, 6001 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 19, to Monday, May 25. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Kendal at Ithaca, 2230 N. Triphammer Road, Ithaca. Saturday, June 13, and Sunday, June 14. For info, click this link.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 15, to Sunday, June 21.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, July 11, and Sunday, July 12.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road, East Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 18, and Sunday, July 19.

Buffalo Non-Life Master Sectional – Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive, Amherst. Friday, July 24, and Saturday, July 25.

Erie Sectional – Erie Bridge Center, 1221 Grant St., Erie, Pa. Saturday, Sept. 12, and Sunday, Sept. 13.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, Sept. 18, to Sunday, Sept. 20. For info, click this link.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Webster Columbus Center, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 10, and Sunday, Oct. 11.

Buffalo Regional – Adam’s Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 20, to Sunday, Oct. 25. For info, click this link.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, Nov. 7, and Sunday, Nov. 8.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5685 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 10, to Sunday, Nov. 15. For info, click this link.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 7, to Sunday, Dec. 13.

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2016, to Sunday, Jan. 17, 2016.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, Jan. 22, 2016, to Sunday, Jan. 24, 2016.

Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, March 22, 2016, to Sunday, March 27, 2016.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, April 8, 2016, to Sunday, April 10, 2016.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 24, 2016, to Monday, May 30, 2016.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 13, 2016, to Sunday, June 19, 2016.

Syracuse Regional – Monday, Aug. 1, 2016, to Sunday, Aug. 7, 2016.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, Sept. 16, 2016, to Sunday, Sept. 18, 2016.

Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2016, to Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 5, 2016, to Sunday, Dec. 11, 2016.

...

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.

Bridge Center of Buffalo.

Bridge Club Meridian.

Western New York Unit 116.

...

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News. If it’s not in its usual place, try the Sports section.

The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.

Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website. When that happens, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/

Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

...

A Silver Life Master since 2011, Dale Anderson reached a career total of 1,800 master points in November. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

...

Duplicate scores

Week of March 16 to March 22

ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – Howell. A: Ross Markello and Nancy Kessler, 56.55%; Jim Mathis and Barbara Libby, 54.17%; B: Barbara Sadkin and Dale Anderson, 52.38%; C: Bob Kaprove and Paula Salamone, 50.60%; Joe Rooney and Bill Boardman, 48.21%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Mike Ryan and Liz Clark, 62.75%; B/C: Ruth Kozower and Judy Kaprove, 52.17%; east-west, A: John Ziemer and Allen Beroza, 67.42%; B: Bill Boardman and Paula Kotowski, 55.17%; C: Art Schumacher and Ron Henrikson, 48.50%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday afternoon – Howell. A: Mike Ryan and Liz Clark, 63.33%; Judi Marshall and Jerry Geiger, 57.72%; B: Harry Cheung and Ron Henrikson, 51.09%; C: Andrei Reinhorn and David Donaldson, 50.56%; Linda Wynes and Bill Boardman, 47.82%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A: John Ziemer and Judi Marshall, 65.63%; Jerry Geiger and Ruth Kozower, 53.13%; B: Judy Kaprove and Barbara Sadkin, 51.04%; Martin Pieterse and Mike Silverman, 50%; C: Linda Vassallo and Walt Olszewski, 44.79%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – Howell. A: Jerry Geiger and Mike Ryan, 62.08%; B: Barbara Sadkin and David Donaldson, 59.63%; Bill Boardman and Joe Rooney, 52.92%; C: Wilson McClaren and Linda Vassallo, 47.08%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Home Style Pairs. Eleanor Whelan and Jerry Geiger, 3 wins.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Howell. A: Raj Puri and partner, 61.19%; B: (tie) Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, Al Dickman and Chuck Heimerl, 55.23%; C: Bob and Judy Kaprove, 51.97%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A/B: David Whitt and Sharon Wilcox, 58.63%; Jim McClure and Laura Houghtaling, 55.06%; C: Rose Bochiechio and Judith Babat, 48.81%; east-west, A/B: Marjorie Plumb and Natalie Abramson, 59.82%; Tish Schiffman and Mark Tederous, 58.04%; Jim and Gloria Brown, 55.65%; C: Jeffrey Oshlag and Marilyn Wortzman, 52.68%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – North-south, A: Anne Watkins and Christy Kellogg, 61.61%; Donna Steffan and Judy Padgug, 54.17%; B/C: Sue Neubecker and Betty Metz, 53.57%; east-west, A: Judy Graf and Jim Gullo, 63.69%; Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 62.50%; B/C: David Donaldson and Ed Drozen, 50.89%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday evening – Victory Point Game. Rich Cramer-Benjamin and Jeff Bender, 76 vps.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 Game. Howell. A/B: Tish Schiffman and Andrei Reinhorn, 68.63%; Rajat Basu and Ted Kahn, 60.91%; C: Jeffrey Oshlag and Marilyn Wortzman, 56.82%; Chip Kean and Art Matthies, 56.37%; Laura Houghtaling and Jane Roberts, 56.37%; Joe Miranda and Linda Milch, 55%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – North-south, A/B: Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 58.33%; Bert Hargesheimer and Pat Rasmus, 54.76%; C: Eugene Giorgini and Joe Peters, 44.05%; east-west, A/B: Gary Schmitt and Tova Reinhorn, 59.52%; C: Sharon Chang and Andrei Reinhorn, 57.14%; Mark Pascale and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 54.76%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – North-south, A/B/C: Andrei Reinhorn and Elaine Kurasiewicz, 61.34%; John Marvin and Bob Olin, 54.17%; Ed Drozen and Rita Sofia, 54.17%; east-west, A: Bud Seidenberg and Jay Costello, 63.43%; B: Jim Gullo and Fred Yellen, 62.96%; C: Gary Schmitt and John Lyth, 47.69%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – Howell. A/B/C: Jim Gullo and Joyce Meskill, 56.94%; Stan Kozlowski and Bob Olin, 54.63%; Sharon Benz and Elaine Kurasiewicz, 54.63%;

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Enid Sweet and Dave Larcom, 61.31%, John Fiegl and Jane Larcom, 57.74%; (tie) Sandi England and Joe Rooney, Pepe Justicia-Linde and Phil Kitner, 56.55%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – Fred Yellen and Donna Steffan, 59.73%; Walt Olszewski and Eleanor Whelan, 56.33%; Bud Seidenberg and Bob Andersen, 54.81%; Betty Metz and Carol Bedell, 54%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Mike and Vince Taeger, 65.5%; Chuck Heimerl and Al Dickman, 59%; east-west, Bob Lederhousee and Lance Pollock, 60.5%; Dordy and David Donaldson, 53.5%.

Lockport Duplicate Tuesday evening – Barbara Scott and John Scott, 63%; Beena and Madhav Deshmukh, 61%; Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 59%; Roy Crocker and John Lewis, 57%.

Lockport Duplicate Saturday afternoon – Paula and Jim Jones, 62.04%; Jane and Dave Larcom, 59.26%; Edie Moran and Anne Clancy, 55.56%; Marilyn White and Bob Lederhouse, 53.70%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – David Mathis and Shirley Thompson, 69.38%; Parmalier Murphy and Diana Brown, 63.31%.

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Sam Barone and Tony Ditusa, 55%; Bill and Jo Rich, 50%; east-west, Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 58%; Mary Gnozzo and Marie Schneider, 55%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – Joe Day and Tony DiTusa, 60%; Peg Gorham and George Mayers, 53%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Mary Blanchard and Libbie Neuner, 56.7%; Eleanor Murray and Fred Nadel, 53.3%; east-west, Betty Bowling and Bette Seifert, 67.7%; Dick Munschauer and Jeanette Reid, 52.1%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – (March 12) North-south, Sudha and Sukhanand Jain, 61%; east-west, Carol Neuhaus and Stan Kozlowski, 55%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – (March 19) North-south, Jane and Paul Garvey, 68%; east-west, Jan Roalsvig and Stan Kozlowski, 56%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Ruth Elliott and Mike Brown, 62.8%; Marie Lanza and Lou Lombardi, 62.3%; east-west, Al and Phyllis Vogt, 61.7%; Carmella Losi and Esther Ferris, 59.5%.

email: danderson@buffnews.com