Share this article

print logo

Westfield mayor wins re-election

WESTFIELD – The village of Westfield had the only contested race in Chautauqua County on election day, Wednesday.  

Mayor Michael Vandevelde, a democrat, won re-election with 350 votes and Richard C. Raynor, the republican challenger had 224. The three village trustee candidates running for two open seats in order of votes were, Alan Holbrook 476, Robert Cochran 401 and David Carr with 207. The winning candidates were listed on the democratic party line in Westfield.

The board of elections office in Mayville lists Beverly Lubi receiving the most write in votes in Panama where there were no candidates on any major lines. Lubi received 17 of 34 write in votes cast for the only open trustee seat. Kimberly Davis received 10 write in votes and there were a scattering of names written for other people, the official website reported.

Most other villages in the county have moved their elections to November to coincide with the national and state races.