Share this article

print logo

Garbowsky of RIT named Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year

Since the news has already been reported on Twitter, here are the major award winners for Atlantic Hockey this year:

RIT senior Matt Garbowsky took player of the year honors along with the scoring trophy and best defensive forward award.

Bentley's Steven Weinstein was voted best defensive while Army's Tyler Pham was rookie of the year.

Derek Schooley was named coach of the year after leading Robert Morris to the regular season championship.

Zak Zaremba of Army was given the individual sportsmanship award while AIC took the team sportsmanship award.

Senior Canisius goaltender Keegan Asmundson won the goaltending trophy after posting a 1.89 goals against average and .931 save percentage in 19 games.

The All-Atlantic Teams had been previously announced:

First Team All-Conference: Matt Garbowsky (RIT), Cody Wydo (Robert Morris), Andrew Gladiuk (Bentley), Steve Weinstein (Bentley), Chris Rumble (Canisius), Matt Ginn (Holy Cross).

Second Team All-Conference: Ralph Cuddemi (Canisius), Josh Mitchell (RIT), Cole Gunner (Air Force), Brady Norrish (RIT), Ryan Misiak (Mercyhurst), Keegan Asmundson (Canisius).

Third Team All-Conference: Daniel Bahntge (Mercyhurst), Zac Lynch (Robert Morris), Brad McGowan (RIT), Alexander Kuqali (RIT), Chase Golightly (Robert Morris), Jayson Argue (Bentley), Dalton Izyk (Robert Morris).

All-Rookie Team: Tyler Pham (Army), Jack Riley (Mercyhurst), Brady Ferguson (Robert Morris), Brady Norrish (RIT), Keegan Harper (Niagara), Jayson Argue (Bentley).

There are no comments - be the first to comment