Share this article

print logo

Spelling champs advance to next round of annual Bee

School champions from several Western New York counties will take a written test on Wednesday in hopes of qualifying for the 88th annual Buffalo News Spelling Bee.

Twenty students will be selected to compete in the oral finals, which will be held March 8 at the Buffalo History Museum. The winner of that competition will go on to the Scripps National Spelling Bee, courtesy of The Buffalo News, the week of May 24 in Washington, D.C.

The school champions are:

Allegany County

Belfast Central – Kylie Francis; Cuba-Rushford Middle – Angelina Belcer and Christianna Reynolds; Genesee Valley Central – Brock Ellsessor and Aaron Holmes; Wellsville Middle – Austin Keib and Alexa Hill.


Nardin Elementary – Callan Izatt and Patrick Healy; Nichols Middle – Olivia Castiglia and Hannon Levy; School 3, D’Youville Porter Campus – Liz Ramos and Yaileen Kren-Colon; School 19 Native American Magnet – Verkai Marshall and Amair Moughal; South Buffalo Charter – Jaylah Jones and Deliani Abreu.

Cattaraugus County

Ellicottville Central – Jalee Event and Louisa Benatovich; Hinsdale Central – Aarika Mattys and DeziRay Deckman; Olean Intermediate Middle – Madelyn Hoffman and Cait Butler; West Valley Central – Rachel Frascella and Allison Pryzwara.

Chautauqua County

Cassadaga Valley Middle – Grace Warsitz and Gavin Smith; Fredonia Middle – Cameron Crowell and Erin Schrantz; Sherman Central – Alexander Kochanowski and Marcus Deitweiler; Southwestern Middle – Jayna Jose and Hannah Sullivan.

Erie County

Alden Middle – Dylan Stewart and Michael Frisicaro; Children of Mary Home – Therese Pivarunas and Christina Musilli; Christian Central Academy – Kristina Ebert and Carson Kruk; Clarence Middle – Brian Renzoni and Hannah Miller; Depew Middle – Samantha Maroshick and Tarek Karzoun; Frontier Middle – Erin Migas and Carly Warner; GRACE Leah – Emily Tait and Bergen Swanson; Global Concepts Charter – Rebecca Ostrander and Ala-Al Deen Ahmed; Griffith Institute Middle – Michael Spagnola.

Also, Heim Middle – Sampath Petchetti and Makenna Weaver; Herbert Hoover Middle – John Breckenridge and Ashley White; Holland Junior-Senior High – Angela Borosky and Emily Szewczyk; Immaculate Conception – Abigail Jusiak and Santino Panzica; Kadimah – Johan Slabodkin and Evan Ruttenberg; Kenmore Middle – Xavier Stanton and Adelina Metz; Lake Shore Middle – Jakob Pericak and Ethan Persinger; Mill Middle – Zoe Buck and Aidan Vitka; Park – Richard Miller and Rachel McDonnell.

Also, SS Peter and Paul, Hamburg – Marguerite Kellner and Emily Rhoads; SS Peter and Paul, Williamsville – Michael Sobol and Caroline Erdman; Southtowns Catholic – Beatrice Choroser and Emma Katra; St. Amelia – Vincent Lashway and Victoria Pohrte; St. Andrew Country Day School – Emily Bingham and Anthony Foglia; St. Christopher – Aidan Zamorski and Megan Frawley; St. Gregory the Great – Joseph Herr and Haley Matuszak; St. John the Baptist – Emma Hammel and Fiona Rapp; Stanley G. Falk – Challen Frankowski and Bryce Jimerson; Sweet Home Middle – Dennis Majdandzic and Jacob Cazes; Universal School – Khusbakht Pervez; Veronica E Connor Middle – Hannah Schiffmacher and Brady Haines; William Street – Nathaniel Jay and Claire George.

Genesee County

Alexander Middle – Ethan Stroud and Colton Judd; Byron-Bergen Middle – William Johnson and Bryce Walker.

Livingston County

Livonia Intermediate – Alexander Flanagan and Tyler McDonnell.

Niagara County

Barker Middle – Ryan Harris and Cody Wagner; Niagara Charter – David Cabrera; St. Peter Catholic – Ellie Camp and Lydia Schultz; Wilson Middle – Addison Selbert and Scott Vaux.

There are no comments - be the first to comment