Share this article

print logo

Eight UB football players get MAC all-academic honors

Eight University at Buffalo players were named Tuesday to the Mid-American Conference's football all-academic team.

They are among 128 players in the 13-team MAC to receive the honor. A player must have a grade-point average of 3.2 or better and appear in at least 50 percent of the games to qualify.

The Bulls on the team, along with their GPA, major and hometown:

Junior punter Tyler Grassman, 3.71, Business Administration (Columbus, Ohio)

Junior tight end Matt Weiser, 3.44 GPA, Communication (Womelsdorf, Pa.)

Senior tackle Jake Silas, 3.42 GPA, Computer Engineering (Portland, Mich.)

Sophomore linebacker Jarrett Franklin, 3.35 GPA, Electrical Engineering (St. Charles, Mo.)

Senior linebacker Lee Skinner, 3.32 GPA, Business Administration (Dayton, Ohio)

Junior receiver Ron Willoughby, 3.30 GPA, Social Science Interdisciplinary (Avon Lake, Ohio)

Junior linebacker Nick Gilbo, 3.27 GPA, Business Administration (Port Henry, N.Y.)

Junior quarterback Tony Daniel, 3.26 GPA, Early Childhood Education (Hiram, Ga.)

Central Michigan and Northern Illinois each led the MAC with 14 players on the all-academic squad. Bowling Green, Eastern Michigan and Ohio each had 13. Kent State had 10. Western Michigan and Akron had nine. After UB, Ball State and UMass had seven, Toledo six and Miami five. First year players and first-year junior college transfers are not eligible.



There are no comments - be the first to comment