Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Jan. 24

The Buffalo Winter Sectional Tournament continues today, Saturday, Jan. 24, and Sunday, Jan. 25, in the Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Pairs games begin at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. today. Swiss teams start at 10:30 a.m. Sunday. For info, click this link.

...

The Airport Bridge Club will award double points at its games at 11 a.m. Monday, Jan. 26, to Friday, Jan. 30, and at noon next Saturday, Jan. 31, after the lesson at 10:45 a.m.

...

There’s a special offer for players who haven’t tried the Airport Bridge Club. Try the club five times before winter ends and fees will be refunded for the first four games. For info, call 603-6943.

...

Mini-lessons are offered before many games at the Bridge Center of Buffalo. For info, call 834-4222 or click this link.

...

Western New York Unit 116 has scheduled several unit-sponsored games for 2015. They include:

Club-hosted game, 11 a.m., Thursday, Feb. 5, Airport Bridge Club.

Club-hosted game, 10:30 a.m., Monday, Feb. 9, Bridge Club Meridian.

Club-hosted game, 10:30 a.m., Wednesday, Feb. 11, Bridge Center of Buffalo.

Pro-Am game, 1 p.m., Sunday, Feb. 22, Airport Bridge Club.

Club-hosted game, 10:30 a.m., Monday, March 2, Bridge Club Meridian.

Club-hosted game, 7:15 p.m., Wednesday, March 4, Bridge Center of Buffalo.

Club-hosted game, 11 a.m., Thursday, March 12, Airport Bridge Club.

Wearing of the Green game, 7:15 p.m., Monday, March 16, Bridge Club Meridian.

Barometer Pairs game, 7:15 p.m., Monday, May 18, Bridge Club Meridian.

...

Tournament calendar

61st Niagara District Sectional – Holiday Inn & Suites Parkway Convention Centre, 327 Ontario Street, St. Catharines, Ont., Friday, Feb. 6, to Sunday, Feb. 8. For info, click this link.

Toronto Easter Regional – International Plaza Hotel, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto. Tuesday, March 31, to Sunday, April 5.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, April 11, and Sunday, April 12.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Friday, April 17, to Sunday, April 19. For info, click this link.

Burt Garrell Upstate New York Regional – R.I.T. Inn & Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, West Henrietta (Rochester). Monday, May 11, to Sunday, May 17. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Holiday Inn (Cleveland) South, 6001 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 19, to Monday, May 25.

Ithaca Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, June 13, and Sunday, June 14.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 15, to Sunday, June 21.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, July 11, and Sunday, July 12.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road, East Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 18, and Sunday, July 19.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, Sept. 18, to Sunday, Sept. 20.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Webster Columbus Center, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 10, and Sunday, Oct. 11.

Buffalo Regional – Location TBA. Tuesday, Oct. 13, to Sunday, Oct. 18. Previously scheduled for Tuesday, June 23, to Sunday, June 28.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, Nov. 7, and Sunday, Nov. 8.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5685 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 10, to Sunday, Nov. 15.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 7, to Sunday, Dec. 13.

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2016, to Sunday, Jan. 17, 2016.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, Jan. 22, 2016, to Sunday, Jan. 24, 2016.

Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, March 22, 2016, to Sunday, March 27, 2016.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, April 8, 2016, to Sunday, April 10, 2016.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 24, 2016, to Monday, May 30, 2016.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 13, 2016, to Sunday, June 19, 2016.

Syracuse Regional – Monday, Aug. 1, 2016, to Sunday, Aug. 7, 2016.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Willliamsville. Friday, Sept. 16, 2016, to Sunday, Sept. 18, 2016.

Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2016, to Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 5, 2016, to Sunday, Dec. 11, 2016.

...

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.

Bridge Center of Buffalo.

Bridge Club Meridian.

Western New York Unit 116.

...

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News. If it’s not in its usual place, try the Sports section.

The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.

Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website. When that happens, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/

Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

...

A Silver Life Master since 2011, Dale Anderson reached a career total of 1,800 master points in November. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

...

Duplicate scores

Week of Jan. 12 to Jan. 18

ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – Junior Fund. North-south, A: Wilson McClaren and Linda Vassallo, 62.80%; B/C: Joyce Greenspan and Barbara Sadkin, 50.60%; east-west, A: (tie) Barbara and Martin Pieterse, Harry Cheung and Vince Pesce, 58.93%;C: Ruth Wurster and Bill Boardman, 50.60%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Junior Fund. Howell. A: John Ziemer and Judi Marshall, 63.43%; B: Martin Pieterse and Wilson McClaren, 60.19%; David Donaldson and Bill Boardman, 50.93%; C: June Feuerstein and Barbara Sadkin, 49.54%; Dorothy Soong and Joyce Greenspan, 47.69%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – Junior Fund. Howell. A: Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 60.94%; Mike Ryan and Jerry Geiger, 57.81%; B: Walt Olszewski and Linda Vassallo, 54.69%; C: Barbara Pieterse and Paula Kotowski, 50.52%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Junior Fund. Howell. A: Ken Meier and Jim Mathis, 61.90%; Vic Bergsten and John Ziemer, 60.71%; B: Martin and Barbara Pieterse, 54.76%; Paul Ganley and Mike Kisiel, 48.81%; Sharon Chang and Joyce Greenspan, 45.24%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Junior Fund. Howell. A: (tie) Shirley Cassety and Ross Markello; Liz Clark and Jerry Geiger, 54%; B: (3-way tie) Al Dickman and Chuck Heimerl, Art Matthies and Bob Kaprove, 51%; Joe Rooney and partner, 51%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Monday noon – 99ers. Howell, A/B/C: William Noltee and Louise Hayes, 63.39%; Terrence Camp and Joan Nigrelli, 58.93%; Janice Sufrin and Marion Lavigne, 54.46%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A/B/C: Betsy and Richard Heuer, 52.92%; east-west, A/B/C: Joel Brownstein and Sol Messinger, 61.25%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – North-south, A: Joan Rose and Judy Padgug, 59.26%; B: Jim Gullo and Carol Bedell, 52.73%; C: Jeanne Gladysz and Berta Brown, 50.40%; east-west, A: Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 62.25%; Mike Ryan and Judy Graf, 55.61%; B: Bob Olin and Linda Burroughsford, 49.01%; C: Usha Khurana and Chip Kean, 45.43%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday evening – Howell. A: Alex Kowal and Bert Hargesheimer, 60.71%; B: Jim Gullo and Gene Harvey, 57.33%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 Game. North-south, A/B: Elizabeth Young and Ann Coughlin, 57.76%; Gene Nawotniak and Bill Rich, 56.67%; C: Mary Blanchard and Carol Roth, 53.10%; east-west, A: Chip Kean and Art Matthies, 59.52%; Jack and Linda Wynes, 59.40%; Ted Kahn and Nicholas Leibovic, 55.02%; B/C: Jeff Thier and Lynn Witmer, 47.40%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – North-south, A/B: Linda Burroughsford and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 55.29%; John Marvin and Paula Rosen, 54.76%; C: Jan O’Mara and Edith Knaszak, 51.32%; east-west, A/B: Teresa Fraas and Elaine Universal, 56.01%; C: Ten-Pao Lee and Peter Shui, 53.74%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – Howell. A/B/C: Sue Neubecker and Linda Burroughsford, 61.81%; Larry and Dorothy Soong, 57.85%; Cathy Majewski and Elaine Universal, 57.74%; Ten-Pao Lee and Bob Olin, 57%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – Howell. A/B: Anne Watkins and Rita Sofia, 60.42%; C: Linda Burroughsford and Thomas Koralewski, 59.38%; Joyce Kindt and Jeanne Gladysz, 57.29%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Joanne LaFay and Lillian Gotshall, 63.1%; Dave and Jane Larcom, 55.36%; Bob and Joan Ciszak, 54.76%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, John Ziemer and Judy Padgug, 62.50%; Dick Czarnecki and Helen Panza, 54.46%; Anne Watkins and David Donaldson, 47.62%; east-west, Jerry Geiger and Sue Neubecker, 54.17%; Art Morth and Sharon Wilcox, 53.57%; Florence Boyd and Ruth Wurster, 48.21%.

Lockport Duplicate Tuesday evening – Jasbeer Makhija and Paul Capen, 65.28%; Dan Blatz and Gwilym Brick, 56.25%; Beena and Madhav Deshmukh, 55.56%; Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 54.86%.

Lockport Duplicate Saturday afternoon – (Jan. 3) Howell. Edie Moran and Anne Clancy, 77.78%; Kathy Fenn and Elve Johnston, 63.19%; Beena and Madhav Deshmukh, 56.94%.

Lockport Duplicate Saturday afternoon – (Jan. 10) Howell. Dave and Jane Larcom, 65.63%; Miriam Regnet and Roy Crocker, 63.19%; Marge Schomers and Marilyn White, 60.94%.

Lockport Duplicate Saturday afternoon – (Jan. 17) Howell. Miriam Regnet and Roy Crocker, 65.06%; Lois Smith and Anne Clancy, 51.58%; Carol Neuhaus and Paul Capen, 47.63%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Garnet Wallace and Cleveland Fleming, 59.17%; Marcia Turley and Doanne Jackson, 54.38%.

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Lou Bacon and Ellie Guyette, 62%; Dolores Shearer and Elizabeth Young, 54%; east-west, Carol Neuhaus and Martin Schaus, 56%; Ron Fill and Mike Brown, 55%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Mary Blanchard and Ruth Jones, 67.7%; Priscilla Bretschger and Sallie Steele, 52.1%; east-west, Joe Fiore and Bernie Meyer, 68.8%; Dick Munschauer and Jeanette Reid, 51.6%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – North-south, Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 60%; east-west, George Dorigo and Stan Kozlowski, 76%.

College Club Duplicate – Howell. Marcia Scott and Karen Stephenson, 61.11%; Gloria Fenston and Linda Franchell, 50.93%; Betty Loucks and Mary Vicanti, 49.07%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Carmella Losi and Esther Ferris, 58.8%; Evelyn Vitello and Edna Fill, 53.8%; east-west, Phyllis and Al Vogt, 70.9%; Eileen Bisantz and Nancy Hoffman, 51.1%.

email: danderson@buffnews.com