Share this article

print logo

Ross, Burmaster, Updegrove to keep top spots in Niagara Legislature

NORTH TONAWANDA – William L. Ross was re-elected chairman of the Niagara County Legislature for 2015 at the annual Christmas dinner of the Republican-led majority caucus, held in Pane’s Restaurant here Monday night.

For Ross, 81, a Wheatfield Conservative, the designation continues his record as the longest-serving chairman in county history, as 2015 will be his 12th year with gavel in hand. He was chairman in 1989, from 2004 through 2006, and since 2008.

Clyde L. Burmaster, R-Ransomville, will continue as vice chairman, and Richard E. Updegrove, R-Lockport, as majority leader. For both men, it will be the eighth consecutive year in those positions. In all, Burmaster has been vice chairman for 13 years.

Minority Leader Dennis F. Virtuoso, D-Niagara Falls, said Tuesday his caucus has yet to meet to decide on officers for 2015. Both parties’ choices will be officially announced at the Legislature’s first meeting of the year Jan. 6.