Share this article

print logo

On the Record / Oct. 31, 2014


Dr. Sebastian Ciancio, the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine’s distinguished service professor, chairman in the Department of Periodontology and director of the Center for Dental Studies, was chosen as the recipient of the American Dental Association’s 2014 Norton M. Ross Award for Excellence in Clinical Research. The award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions in clinical investigations that advance the diagnosis, treatment or prevention of craniofacial-oral-dental diseases, as well as outstanding research endeavors in other areas.


The Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce, based in St. Catharines, Ont., announced the winners of the 11th annual Niagara Business Achievement Awards: Business of the Year, Rankin Construction; Excellence in Business, 10 or less employees, Wellington Court; Excellence in Business, 11 to 50 employees, Niagara Grape and Wine Festival; Excellence in Business, 51 or more employees, E.S. Fox Ltd.; Outstanding New Business, Silversmith Brewing; Technology & Innovation, Niagara Regional Broadband Network; Environmental Leadership, Macdonald Zuberec Ensslen Architects; Excellence in Manufacturing, Cytec Canada; Young Professional Award, Josh Juhlke (PenFinancial Credit Union). Individual awardees: the Lifetime Achievement Award, Howard Staff, posthumously; Builder of the Year Award, George Wakil; the Volunteer Business Person of the Year Award, Allan Schmidt; and the Community Leadership Award, Liz Palmieri.

Company Connections

Harbour House Hotel, a 31-room boutique hotel located in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont., was named to the top 10 list of outstanding hotels in Eastern Canada by Conde Nast Traveler magazine in its annual Readers’ Choice Awards. More than 77,000 readers voted for their favorite hotels, which were ranked on rooms, service, location, design, facilities and value. Harbour House Hotel is part of Niagara’s Finest Hotels, a collection of boutique properties located in Niagara-on-the-Lake and includes Shaw Club Hotel & Spa and the Charles Hotel.


Phillips Lytle, a regional law firm, will be honored as Amherst Chamber of Commerce 2014 Business of the Year. Other award winners include: Community Revitalization: TM Montante; Health & Health Services: Hunter’s Hope Foundation; Innovation Award: CCS Oncology; Stewardship Award: Niagara Frontier Automobile Dealers Association; Commitment to Excellence: Buffalo Spree; Woman of Distinction: Shelley Drake, senior vice president, M&T Bank; and Young Professional Leadership Award: the Chamber’s Emerging Business Leaders group.


The Buffalo Niagara Association of Realtors presented $5,000 to Mercy Flight Central and $5,000 to Mercy Flight Western New York. BNAR raised the money at its charity event, golf tournament and silent auction that was held in September.


Synthesis of nanoparticles by an emulsion-gas contacting process

No.: 8,859,000

Inventors: Mountziaris, Triantafillos J. (Williamsville); Alexandridis; Paschalis (East Amherst)

Assignee: The Research Foundation of State University of New York (Amherst)

Date issued: Oct. 14, 2014

SEND US YOUR NEWS: To be included in the On the Record listing, send your information to: