Share this article

print logo

Bowling season is ready to roll

Julie Selk will be honored for the second time, but it’s business as usual for Mike Zarcone when the Greater Buffalo USBC Association honors its Bowlers of the Year before the start of the 48th annual Bowling Week Kick-Off Tournament on Thursday night at AMF Thruway Lanes.

Zarcone, who won his first George A. Obenauer Masters championship last spring, is the Adult Male Bowler of the Year for the sixth time – he shared the honor with Chuck Jagodzinski once – in the last nine years. He led all men bowlers in the association with a combined average of 235.04.

Selk led all women bowlers in the GBUSBCA with a 219.89 composite average.

Dana Voytovich will be honored as the Male Youth Bowler of the Year while Haley Carroll and Marisa Moon will share the female honor. Melanie Hannon had won the youth female honor for the previous four years before going off to college at Fairleigh Dickinson University.

The field for the Kick-Off Tournament is star-studded. The Women’s Scratch Division includes pro star Liz Johnson, who is a seven-time Bowler of the Year, Marion Singleton, Sue Jeziorski, Sue Nawojski, Holly Filarecki, Janette Piesczynski, Michelle Sterner and Jocelyn Stutz.

Besides Zarzone, the Men’s Scratch field will include Obenauer Masters runner-up Frank Bellavia of Niagara Falls and City Open 6-Game Combine champion Dan Antkowiak.

Handicap Division entrants include defending Kick-Off champion Marla Berry.

Opening ceremonies and awards presentations will be at 6:45 p.m. The bowling will begin at 7 p.m.

Each bowler will bowl a two-game qualifier with the top eight in each division advancing to match play. Each match will consist of one game.