Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up for August 13


Event: LPGA Championship.

Site: Pittsford.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Monroe Golf Club (6,717 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2,225,000. Winner’s share: $337,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 12:30-3 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 3-7 p.m.)

Last year: Inbee Park won the June event at Locust Hill for the second of her three straight major victories. She beat Catriona Matthew on the third hole of a playoff.

Last week: Mirim Lee won the Meijer LPGA Classic in Belmont, Michigan, for her first LPGA Tour victory. The South Korean rookie beat Park on the second extra hole.

Notes: The tournament is in its final season as the LPGA Championship. Next year, the tour will team with the PGA of America to run the Women’s PGA Championship. The 2015 event will be played at Westchester Country Club in Harrison, New York. The KPMG-sponsored tournament will be televised by NBC and moved around the country. ... Americans have won the first three majors of the year. Lexi Thompson won the Kraft Nabisco, Michelle Wie the U.S. Women’s Open and Mo Martin the Women’s British Open. Wie is sidelined by a right index finger injury. ... Donald Ross designed Monroe. ... The Canadian Women’s Open is next week in London, Ontario.


PGA Tour

Event: Wyndham Championship.

Site: Greensboro, North Carolina.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Sedgefield Country Club (7,127 yards, par 70).

Purse: $5.3 million. Winner’s share: $954,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-6 p.m., 8:30-11:30 p.m.; Friday, 3-6 p.m., 10:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m., 10 p.m.-2:30 a.m.) and CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Patrick Reed won his first PGA Tour title, beating Jordan Spieth with a birdie on the second hole of a playoff. Reed has two victories this season.

Last week: Rory McIlroy won the PGA Championship at Valhalla in Louisville, Kentucky, for his second straight major victory and third tour win a row. Phil Mickelson was a stroke back.

Notes: The tournament ends the points race for spots in the FedEx Cup playoffs, the four-event series that starts next week with The Barclays at Ridgewood in Paramus, New Jersey. The top 125 players will be eligible for the opener. ... The top 125 on the money list after the event will earn 2014-15 tour cards. ... Sam Snead won the tournament a tour-record eight times from 1938-65. His 1965 victory made him the tour’s oldest winner at 52 years, 10 months, 8 days. Tiger Woods tied Snead’s record for victories in a tournament twice last year, winning his eighth titles in the Arnold Palmer and Bridgestone events. ... The tournament returned to Donald Ross-designed Sedgefield in 2008 after 31 years at Forest Oaks. ... Champions Tour players Fred Couples and Rocco Mediate are in the field. Mediate won in 1993 and 2002


Champions Tour

Event: Dick’s Sporting Goods.

Site: Endicott, New York.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: En-Joie Golf Course (6,957 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.85 million. Winner’s share: $277,500.

Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 6:30-8:30 p.m.; Saturday, 2-4 a.m., 7-9:30 p.m.; Sunday, 3-5 a.m., 7-9:30 p.m.).

Last year: Bart Bryant tied the tournament record with a 62 in the second round en route to a one-stroke victory over Russ Cochran and Corey Pavin.

Last event: Kenny Perry won the 3M Championship on Aug. 3 in Blaine, Minnesota, for his second victory of the year. He tied for 27th last week in the PGA Championship.

Notes: Bernard Langer and Colin Montgomerie are in the field. Langer has two majors victories and four overall titles this season. Montgomerie also won two majors this year. ... En-Joie was the site of the PGA Tour’s now-defunct B.C. Open from 1971-2005. ... Craig Stadler won the 2003 B.C. Open to become the first player to win a PGA Tour event while a member of the Champions Tour. ... The Boeing Classic is next week in Snoqualmie, Washington, followed by the Shaw Charity Classic in Calgary, Alberta.


U.S. Golf Association

Event: U.S. Amateur.

Site: Johns Creek, Georgia.

Schedule: through Sunday.

Course: Atlanta Athletic Club, Highlands Course (7,490 yards, par 71).

Television: Golf Channel (Wednesday, 4-6 p.m., 9-11 p.m.; Thursday, 6:30-8:30 p.m.; Friday, midnight-2 a.m., 8:30-10:30 p.m.; Saturday, 4-6 a.m.) and NBC (Saturday-Sunday, 4-6 p.m.).

Last year: Matthew Fitzpatrick became the first English champion since 1911, beating Australia’s Oliver Goss 4 and 3 in the 36-hole final at The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts.

Notes: The top 64 in stroke-play qualifying will advance to match play, starting Wednesday. ... The Atlanta Athletic Club, then located in East Lake, was Bobby Jones’ home club. He won the event in 1924, 1925, 1927, 1928 and 1930. ... The 2015 tournament will be played at Olympia Fields in Illinois, and the 2016 event is set for Oakland Hills in Michigan.


Area Holes-In-One

John Beltz, on the 180-yard 14th hole at Springville, with a 6-iron.

Steven Bolt, on the 177-yard third hole at Dandee Farms, with a 5-iron.

Tom Emborsky, on the 173-yard eighth hole at Brighton Park, with 4-hybrid.

Sonny Jelonek, on the 179-yard 14th hole at Concord Crest, with a 5-iron.

Dr. Michael Katz, on the 187-yard 15th hole at Brookfield, with a 3-wood.

Ben Kempa, on the 135-yard first hole at 18-Mile-Creek, with pitching wedge.

Jeff Mertz, on the 158-yard fifth hole at Terry Hills, with a 7-iron.

Marion Mingl, on the 105-yard sixth hole at Sherdian Park, with a 9-wood.