Share this article

print logo

Deadline for voting in Sept. 9 primary is Friday

MAYVILLE – Friday is the deadline for unregistered voters to sign up if they want to cast ballots in the primary elections Sept. 9, the Chautauqua County Board of Elections announces.

Democrats will choose between endorsed candidate James Spann of Westfield and Sally Jarszynski of Falconer. On the Republican ballot, Jeffrey A. Piazza of Kiantone faces Michael J. Sullivan of Fredonia.

Spann, Piazza and Sullivan are vying for the Conservative and Independence Party lines. Sullivan and Spann also are running for Working Families and Green Party endorsements.

Newly appointed County Legislator Beth Kresge of Jamestown will be challenged on the Independence Party ballot by Elizabeth Rankin, who works for Assemblyman Andrew Goodell, R-Jamestown. Kresge is unopposed for the Working Families line, while Rankin is unopposed for the Republican and Conservative nominations.

Mail-in registration forms are available at and must be postmarked by midnight Friday. Voters also may register at the Mayville office of the Board of Elections, 7 N. Erie St., until 5 p.m. Friday.