Share this article

print logo

Starting Line: This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Aaron’s 499.

Site: Talladega, Ala.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 2-4:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox, 1-2:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (Fox, 12:30-5 p.m.).

Track: Talladega Superspeedway (oval, 2.66 miles).

Race distance: 500.08 miles, 188 laps.

Last year: David Ragan won the rain-delayed race, hooking up with Front Row teammate David Gilliland in a two-lap overtime sprint.

Last week: Joey Logano won at Richmond to tie Kevin Harvick for the series victory lead with two. After the race, Marcos Ambrose punched Casey Mears in the face.

Fast facts: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the season-opening Daytona 500 for his eighth restrictor-plate victory. He has five Talladega victories, winning a record four straight from 2001 to 2003. … NASCAR fined Marcos Ambrose $25,000 and Casey Mears $15,000 and placed them on probation until May 28. … Season points leader Jeff Gordon leads active drivers with six Talladega victories. … Jamie McMurray won the October race at the track.

Next race: 5-Hour Energy 400, May 10, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Mo.



Event: Aaron’s 312.

Site: Talladega, Ala.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 6:30-8 p.m.); Saturday, race, 3 p.m. (ESPN, 2:30-6 p.m.).

Track: Talladega Superspeedway (oval, 2.66 miles).

Race distance: 311.22 miles, 117 laps.

Last year: Regan Smith won the race shortened 10 laps to beat darkness after a long rain delay.

Last week: Kevin Harvick raced to his record-extending seventh Richmond series victory, holding off JR Motorsports teammate Chase Elliott.

Fast facts: Elliott leads the season standings, 19 points ahead of JRM teammate Smith. The 18-year-old Elliott swept the Texas and Darlington races. Smith won the season-opening restrictor-plate race at Daytona. … Darrell Wallace Jr. and Sam Hornish Jr. are driving for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Next race: Iowa 250, May 18, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.


Camping World Truck

Next race: SFP 250, May 9, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Mo.

Last race: Defending series champion Matt Crafton won the rain-delayed race at Martinsville on March 30.


Verizon IndyCar

Next race: Grand Prix of Indianapolis, May 10, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis.

Last week: Ryan Hunter-Reay coasted to his second straight victory at Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama when the rain-shortened race finished under caution. Andretti Autosport teammate Marco Andretti was second.


Formula One

Next race: Spanish Grand Prix, May 11, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.

Last race: Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won the Chinese Grand Prix on April 20 for his third straight victory. Teammate Nico Rosberg was second.


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Next event: NHRA Summer Nationals, May 16-18, Atlanta Dragway, Commerce, Ga.

Last week: Erica Enders-Stevens raced to her second Pro Stock victory of the season, beating Allen Johnson in the SpringNationals in Baytown, Texas. Antron Brown won in Top Fuel, and Robert Hight topped the Funny Car field.