Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up / This week’s golf at a glance

PGA Tour

Event: Wells Fargo Championship.

Site: Charlotte, N.C.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Quail Hollow Club (7,562 yards, par 72).

Purse: $6.9 million. Winner’s share: $1.24 million.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-7 p.m., 7:30-11:30 p.m.; Friday, midnight-4 a.m., 3-7 p.m., 9:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m., 9:30 p.m.-2 a.m.) and CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Derek Ernst won his first tour title, birdieing the final hole to force a playoff and beating David Lynn with a par on the first extra hole.

Last week: South Korea’s Seung-Yul Noh won the Zurich Classic in Avondale, La., for his first PGA Tour victory. Andrew Svoboda and Robert Streb tied for second, two strokes back.

Notes: Phil Mickelson and Rory McIlroy are making their first starts since the Masters. McIlroy won in 2010, finishing with a 10-under 62 to beat Mickelson by four strokes. ... Rickie Fowler won in 2012 for his lone PGA Tour title. He beat McIlroy and D.A. Points with a birdie on the first playoff hole.



Event: North Texas LPGA Shootout.

Site: Irving, Texas.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Las Colinas Country Club (6,410 yards, par 71).

Purse: $1.3 million. Winner’s share: $195,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 12:30-2:30 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Top-ranked Inbee Park won the inaugural event for the third of her six 2013 victories.

Last week: Lydia Ko won the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic in Daly City, Calif., for her third LPGA Tour victory and first as a professional. The 17-year-old Ko beat Stacy Lewis by a stroke.

Notes: Lexi Thompson is making her first start since winning the Kraft Nabisco for her first major title. … Park is winless in seven tour starts this season. She won a Ladies European Tour event in March in China. … Lewis, has six runner-up finishes since winning the Women’s British Open in August. … Ko is taking the week off. … The 144-player field will be cut to the top 70 and ties after the second round and to the top 50 and ties after the third.


Champions Tour

Event: Insperity Invitational.

Site: The Woodlands, Texas.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: The Woodlands Country Club (7,002 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2 million. Winner’s share: $300,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 7:30-9:30 p.m.; Saturday, 2-4 a.m., 6:30-9:30 p.m.; Sunday, 2:30-4:30 a.m., 7-9:30 p.m.; Monday, 2:30-4:30 a.m.).

Last year: Esteban Toledo became the first Mexican winner in Champions Tour history, beating Mike Goodes with a par on the third hole of a playoff.

Last event: Miguel Angel Jimenez won the Greater Gwinnett Championship on April 20 in his Champions Tour debut. He led wire-to-wire for a two-stroke victory over Bernhard Langer.

Notes: Jeff Maggert won the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic last month in his first start on the 50-and-over tour. … Fred Funk won the 2012 event and the 1992 Houston Open on the course. … Langer won the 2007 event at Augusta Pines and successfully defended his title in 2008 at The Woodlands.