Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for April 24

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Toyota Owners 400.

Site: Richmond, Va.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10 a.m.-noon, 1-2 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7 p.m. (Fox, 6:30-10:30 p.m.).

Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Kevin Harvick drove from seventh to first in a two-lap overtime sprint to the finish. Clint Bowyer was second.

Last race: Harvick won the Southern 500 on April 12 at Darlington to become the first repeat winner this season. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was second.

Fast facts: The race is the third short-track event of the season. Carl Edwards won at Bristol on March 16, and Kurt Busch took the Martinsville race March 30. Edwards won the September race at Richmond. ... Kyle Busch swept the spring races at the track from 2009 to 2012. ... Jeff Gordon leads the season standings. ... Denny Hamlin is from nearby Chesterfield. ... Richard Petty won a record 13 times at the track.

Next race: Aaron’s 499, May 4, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.



Event: Toyotacare 250.

Site: Richmond, Va.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (ESPN2, 3-4:30 p.m.), race, 7 p.m. (ESPN News, 6:30-9:30 p.m.).

Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).

Race distance: 250 mi., 187.5 laps.

Last year: Brad Keselowski took the lead from Kyle Busch with 10 laps to go and held off Kevin Harvick.

Last race: Chase Elliott won at Darlington on April 11 for his second straight series victory. The 18-year-old Elliott, also the Texas winner, is the son of NASCAR great Bill Elliott.

Fast facts: Busch won this year at Phoenix and Bristol to push his series-record victory total to 65. He has won four times at Richmond. ... Harvick has a series-record six victories at the track. ... Elliott leads the season standings, 13 points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith. Smith won at the opener at Daytona. ... Keselowski won the September race at the track.

Next race: Aaron’s 312, May 3, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.


Camping World Truck

Next race: SFP 250, May 9, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Mo.

Last race: Defending series champion Matt Crafton won the rain-delayed race at Martinsville on March 30 for his fourth career victory.


Verizon IndyCar

Event: Grand Prix of Alabama.

Site: Birmingham, Ala.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, Sunday, 1-2 a.m.); Sunday, race, 3:12 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 2:30-5:30 p.m.).

Track: Barber Motorsports Park (road course, 2.38 miles).

Race distance: 214.2 miles, 90 laps.

Last year: Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay raced to the first of his two 2013 victories. Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon was second.

Last race: Ed Carpenter Racing’s Mike Conway won at Long Beach on April 13, taking the lead when Dixon stopped for fuel two laps from the finish.

Fast facts: The race is the third of the season. ... Team Penske’s Will Power, the winner of the season-opening race at St. Petersburg, Fla., won at Barber in 2011-12. ... Dixon has finished second in each of the four races at Barber. ... The Indy Lights Series has races Saturday and Sunday.

Next race: Grand Prix of Indianapolis, May 10, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis.


Formula One

Next race: Spanish Grand Prix, May 11, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.

Last week: Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won the Chinese Grand Prix for his third straight victory. Teammate Nico Rosberg was second.


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: NHRA Springnationals.

Site: Baytown, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 3-4:30 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 2:30-5:30 p.m.).

Track: Royal Purple Raceway.

Last year: Cruz Pedregon won in Funny Car, beating Tim Wilkerson in the final. Bob Vandergriff Jr. won in Top Fuel, Jason Line topped the Pro Stock field, and Hector Arana Jr. won in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last event: Robert Hight won the Four-Wide Nationals in Concord, N.C., on April 13, beating John Force, Alexis DeJoria and Tim Wilkerson in the Funny Car final. Antron Brown won the Top Fuel division, Sweden’s Jimmy Alund topped the Pro Stock field to become the first European winner in the series, and Andrew Hines won in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Hight, a two-time winner in the first five events, leads the Funny Car standings – 35 points ahead of Force. The 64-year-old Force won the season-opening Winternationals in Pomona, Calif., for his record 139th victory. He won his record 16th season title last year. ... Doug Kalitta leads the Top Fuel standings, Erica Enders-Stevens tops the Pro Stock division, and Hines has the Pro Stock Motorcycle lead.

Next event: NHRA Summer Nationals, May 16-18, Atlanta Dragway, Commerce, Ga.