Share this article

print logo

Crop damage due to cold spurs disaster designation in WNY

Five Western New York counties have been designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture as disaster areas because of crop damage caused by this winter’s extreme cold weather, Sen. Charles E. Schumer, D-N.Y., announced .

Cattaraugus and Chautauqua counties have been approved as primary disaster areas. Allegany, Erie and Wyoming counties, which are adjacent to them, also have been included in the declaration.

Schumer said Cornell University scientists have found that more than 50 percent of the buds on grapevines were damaged by the cold.