Share this article

print logo

East Aurora cross country runs to McQuaid titles

Living up to its No. 1 ranking in the state in Class B, the East Aurora girls cross country team won its varsity seeded race Saturday at the McQuaid Invitational. The 48th annual event featured 25 races over the 3.0 mile course at Genesee Valley Park.

The Blue Devils scored 68 points, beating runner-up III-Tully with 148, among a field of 22 teams. Marta McLaughlin finished second in 17:50.7. Freshman Maisy Webster was fifth in 18:09.3 and Sidney Spaschak was 17th in 18:47.2.

Maple Grove, the top-ranked Class D girls team in the state, was sixth and Alden was eighth. Newfane was 14th, led by Kelly Bochnewetch’s 11th-place finish.

“East Aurora has been attending this meet for probably 40 years,” said EA coach Walt McLaughlin. “This is one of the biggest races in New York all year, that’s for sure. It gives you a chance to see really good competition. The experience is awesome, it really helps prepare you for the big races late in the season.”

The East Aurora boys also won their varsity seeded A race. Kenny Vasbinder was second in 15:44.0, and Alden’s Dylan Servos was third in 15:45.0. Matt McLaughlin of EA was 12th in 16:10.1. The Barker boys were third, and Alden was fourth, separated by four points. Barker’s first runner, Sergio Cruz, was 17th in 16:19.0.

Immaculata won the Class A-3 small school unseeded race, bettering a field of 50 teams. Katie Simon was eighth in 19:47 followed by Rachel Luczak in 11th and Claire Attea in 15th.

Anthony Belfatto finished second in 15:41, and J.D. McGuire was fourth as St. Joe’s won the unseeded varsity AAA race among 18 teams.

• The West Seneca West girls placed five runners in the top 10 to run away with the title of the Western New York Track & Field Officials meet at Sunshine Park in West Seneca. The Niagara Falls boys used a 1-2-3 finish to narrowly win the boys competition over Amherst and West Seneca West.

Boys medalist honors went to Anthony Hawthorne of Niagara Falls in 17:04 followed by teammates Donny McCoy in 18:06 and Chris Dobmeier in 18:10.

Laura Staff of Amherst won the girls race in 20:11 followed by Anne Rybczynski of West Seneca West in 20:12 and Amber Custodi of Lew-Port in 20:21.

Nardin soccer wins

The Nardin girls soccer team rallied from a 3-1 deficit to beat Skaneateles, 4-3, and win the 35th Lew-Port Cup. The win for the Gators was their fourth in a row. Senior Alex Juliano, named to the all-tournament team, had two goals, while Emma Gervase added a goal and an assist.

The Gators reached the title game with a 5-0 win over City Honors on Friday. Tricia Mangan had a goal and two assists versus the Centaurs. Nardin moves to 7-3-1 overall and 5-0 in the Msgr. Martin Association.

McTigue inducted

PJ McTigue-Murdie was inducted into the Geneseo State Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday night.

While at Kenmore East she was a four-year varsity athlete in soccer, basketball and softball before graduating in 1995.

Lockport prevails

Bryce Perry was MVP and Ryan Guyton made all-tournament as they helped Lockport beat St. Mary’s, 25-21, 25-23, to win the Williamsville South boys volleyball tournament.