Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New York

Buffalo lawyer Joseph M. LaTona has been named the 2014 “Buffalo Criminal Defense White-Collar Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers.

Best Lawyers, the oldest peer-review publication in the legal profession, also named LaTona one of the best Buffalo lawyers in the areas of non-white-collar criminal defense and driving while intoxicated criminal defense work.


Jaekyung Lee, dean of the University at Buffalo Graduate School of Education, has appointed four new associate deans: Greg Dimitriadis, associate dean for academic affairs; Xiufeng Liu, associate dean for interdisciplinary research; Randy Yerrick, associate dean for inter-professional education and engagement; and Jennifer Lawrence, associate dean for student affairs and administration.

Dimitriadis has expertise in academic and faculty matters; Liu has been a principal investigator or co-principal investigator on large national research grants; Yerrick has expertise in educational technology applications as well as working with local schools and educators; and Lawrence has administrative experience in student and alumni matters, and student counseling.


The Niagara Frontier Radio Reading Service, a special “radio station” for area blind and print-handicapped persons, has elected its officers for the 2013-2014 year.

Officers are: chair, Lori Heidenburg Morrell of West Falls; first vice chairwoman, Donna M. Dickey of Tonawanda; second vice chairman, David A. Roll of West Seneca; treasurer, Ronald Scholze of Williamsville; and secretary, Linda Rinella of Orchard Park.

Suzanne Swanson of Eden was elected to the board. Other board members are: Barbara Burns of East Amherst; Cheryl Haake of Eden; Margaret Mergenhagen of Williamsville; William Miles of Buffalo; Walt Otto of Depew; Margaret Recktenwald of Williamsville; Margaret Riso of Snyder; Ronald Sipos of Buffalo; Joyce Trautman Bobrowski of Kenmore; and Ann Marie Ford of Tonawanda.


Onalee Carrow of Hamburg, an 87-year-old retired activity leader and mother, was recently honored for her outstanding service as a senior companion volunteer for 25 years with the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities. She provides compassionate direct care assistance and companionship to individuals with special needs attending the Western New York Developmental Disabilities Service office located at the Pine Street Day Habilitation Center.

Carrow said she gets a great deal of satisfaction out of the relationships she has formed and the opportunity to make a positive impact on the lives of the people she serves.


The Amherst Lions Club has elected its officers for the 2013-2014 year.

They are: president, Robert Sikorski; first vice president, Susan Teetsel; second vice president, Nimmy Mudaliar; treasurer, Ann Marie Ford; assistant treasurers, Bernie Lebert and Dick Lebert; secretary, Rick Niedermeyer; ombudswoman/assistant secretary, Sheila Jones; lion tamer, Andy Burg; tail twister, Ken Moses; membership chair, Tom Davis; president emeritus, Herb Wilber; and directors, Bob Wasson, Lane Bartholomew and Jack Elliott.


Cpl. Timothy Liberatore was named Florida Sheriff’s Association Law Enforcement Officer of the Year. Liberatore is an Iroquois High School and Canisius College graduate.

Last year, Liberatore made 260 arrests, resulting in 115 felony and 167 misdemeanor charges.


The Greater Olean Area Chamber of Commerce and its Taste of Olean Event Committee have announced its seventh class of inductees to the Taste of Olean Hospitality Wall of Fame Awards program.

Honorees are: Jackie Attard, John Malara, Richard Marcus and Louis V. “Little Louie” Marra.

The wall of fame recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution and given exceptional service to the food service/hospitality industry. All have succeeded in excelling at all the most important elements of a great restaurant: inviting atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.


Dom Cardino, a West Seneca businessman and sign language instructor, received the “Friends of Education Award” from the West Seneca Teachers Association.

Cardino has assisted in the professional development of educators in the district. He has taught sign language courses to certification teachers and support staff for the Teachers’ Center.


Tonya Kilby, a Cattaraugus County probation officer, was awarded the Jeannie C. Farrell Award of Achievement, from the New York State Probation Officers Association. Gerald Zimmerman, director of probation and correctional alternatives for the county, said the award is presented to the officer who goes above and beyond required duties and achieves results which deserve special recognition.

“Officer Kilby has taken on enormous responsibilities, and has been invaluable to her department in implementing cutting-edge reforms, including the supervision of sexual offenders, the use and implementation of cognitive evidence-based interventions, group reporting and in presenting these ideas to other departments across the state,” Zimmerman said.


Several military personnel have graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.

Army Reserve Pvt. Neil W. Wansor is the son of Toyomi Wansor of Blasdell. He is a 2011 graduate of Frontier High School, Hamburg.

Army Pvt. Carl C. Carithers is the son of Mary and James Carithers of Albion. He is a 2006 graduate of Charles D’Amico High School, Albion.

Army Pvt. Kevin Lapp is the son of John Lapp of Fredericksburg, Va., and Deborah Carter of Bentonville, Va. He is also the grandson of Patricia Lapp of Leroy. He is a 2011 graduate of Chancellor High School, Fredericksburg.

Army Reserve Pfc. Joel Bouchard is the son of Ronald and Nancy Bouchard of Perry. He graduated from a home-school program in 2006. He received an associate degree in 2008 from Genesee Community College, Batavia.