Share this article

print logo

On the Record / Aug. 16, 2013


The department of orthopaedics at the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences appointed Dr. Leslie J. Bisson its inaugural June A. and Eugene R. Mindell, MD professor and chair. Bisson, associate professor in the department, also serves as medical director/team orthopaedic surgeon for the Buffalo Sabres, team physician and orthopaedic consultant for the Buffalo Bills, team orthopaedist for SUNY Buffalo State and medical director for the World Junior Hockey Championships. He received his MD from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.


William M. Prohn of Dopkins & Company, Certified Public Accountants and Consultants, was awarded the designation of CISA (Certified Information Systems Auditor) by ISACA, an international professional association that deals with IT governance. The CISA designation is a globally recognized certification for Information Security audit control, assurance and security professionals. Company Connections

The National Physical Laboratory has joined the the Graphene Stakeholders Association as a life member. The association’s mission is promoting the responsible development of graphene and graphene-enabled technologies and applications. The GSA was launched earlier this year as a 501(c)6 enterprise headquartered in Buffalo, whose founders include Keith Blakely, CEO, the InVentures Group; Alan Rae, CEO, Nano Materials Innovation Center; Vincent Caprio, executive director, NanoBusiness Commercialization Association; and Stephen Waite, managing partner, SoundView Technology Group.


Fallsview Casino Resort recently was honored with the CAA/AAA Four-Dianmond Award for the ninth consecutive year, and its two fine-dining establishments, 21 Club and Ponte Vecchio, were also recognized with the Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. The complete list of national award winners will be included in the Aug. 31 issue of Wine Spectator.


Title: Circuit board mountable solenoid actuator

No.: 8,503,152

Inventors: Feltz, Brad S. (Holland); Wike Jr., Walter F. (Lancaster); Heffler, Kevin R. (Youngstown)

Assignee: American Precision Industries (East Aurora)

Date issued: Aug. 6, 2013