Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for June 13

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Quicken Loans 400

Site: Brooklyn, Mich.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 3:30-5 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 12:30-1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (TNT, noon-4:30 p.m.)

Track: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles)

Race distance: 400 miles, 200 laps

Last year: Dale Earnhardt Jr. ended a 143-race winless streak dating to his June 2008 victory at the track.

Last week: Jimmie Johnson raced to his third victory of the season, dominating at Pocono Raceway to increase his lead in the season standings.

Pit stops: Johnson leads second-place Carl Edwards by 51 points. Johnson and Matt Kenseth are tied for the victory lead. Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick have each won twice. … Earnhardt has only the two Michigan victories in 192 starts for Hendrick Motorsports. He won 17 times in 291 starts for Dale Earnhardt Inc. … Greg Biffle won the August race at the track. … Nationwide Series championship contenders Austin Dillon and Trevor Bayne are racing.

Next race: Toyota/Save Mart 350, June 23, Sonoma Raceway, Sonoma, Calif.



Event: Alliance Truck Parts 250

Site: Brooklyn, Mich.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 1-3:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10:30 a.m.-noon), race, 2:15 p.m. (ABC, 2-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles)

Race distance: 250 miles, 125 laps

Last year: Joey Logano raced to the fourth of his nine series victories in his final season with Joe Gibbs Racing.

Last week: Trevor Bayne won the rain-delayed race in Iowa for his second series victory.

Pit stops: Regan Smith leads the season standings, 23 points ahead of Sam Hornish Jr. … Austin Dillon has won three consecutive poles to tie Bayne, Sam Ard, Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin and Michael Waltrip for the series record. … Logano and fellow Sprint Cup driver Kyle Busch are racing. Busch has six victories this season for Gibbs to increase his series record to 57.

Next race: Johnsonville Sausage 200, June 22, Road America, Elkhart Lake, Wis.


Camping World Truck

Next race: UNOH 225, June 27, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Ky.

Last week: Jeb Burton won at Texas for his first series victory. The 20-year-old Burton is the son of 2002 Daytona 500 winner Ward Burton and nephew of Sprint Cup driver Jeff Burton.


IZOD Indycar

Event: Milwaukee Indyfest

Site: West Allis, Wis.

Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 7-8 p.m.); Saturday, race, 4:40 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 4-7 p.m.)

Track: Milwaukee Mile (oval, 1.0 miles)

Race distance: 250 miles, 250 laps.

Last year: Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay raced to the first of three straight victories en route to the season title. He finished the season with four victories.

Last week: Helio Castroneves won at Texas, leading the final 132 laps to give Team Penske its first victory of the year. On Tuesday, Team Penske was fined $35,000 and docked 15 entrant points because the underwing on Castroneves’ car didn’t meet specifications.

Pit stops: KV Racing’s Tony Kanaan won the Indianapolis 500 three weeks ago. He won at Milwaukee in 2006 and 2007. … The historic Milwaukee Mile held its first auto race in 1903. The infield was also the site of some Packers games in the 1930s, including Green Bay’s 1939 NFL championship game victory over the Giants. … The 100-lap Indy Lights race is also Saturday (NBC Sports Network, 3-4 p.m.).

Next race: Iowa Corn Indy 250, June 23, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: Thunder Valley Nationals

Site: Bristol, Tenn.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 7-9:30 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations, (ESPN2, 1-3 p.m., 11 p.m.-midnight)

Track: Bristol Dragway

Last year: Tony Schumacher raced to the first of his two 2012 Top Fuel victories. Ron Capps topped the Funny Car field, and Mike Edwards won in Pro Stock.

Last event: Shawn Langdon won the Summernationals on June 2 in Englishtown, N.J., for his third Top Fuel victory of the season.

Pit stops: Langdon leads the season standings, four points ahead of seven-time champion Tony Schumacher.

Next event: New England Nationals, June 20-23, New England Dragway and Motorsports Park, Epping, N.H.


Formula One

Next race: British Grand Prix, June 30, Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone, England

Last week: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel won the Canadian Grand Prix for his third victory of the year. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso was second.


WNY Starting Line

Elegant Builders Raceway Park: IHRA Drag Racing, Friday, 7 p.m.; Stock Car Racing, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland Speedway: NASCAR Charger 50, Saturday, 5 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: $1,000-to-win VP D98 Sportsman Challenge, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Raceway 5: $1,000-to-win 360 Late Model Special, Saturday, 6 p.m.

New Humberstone Speedway: Ontario Topless Sprints, Sunday, 6 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: Street Stock Special, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Kid’s Stock Car Rides, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Lake Erie Speedway: Twin Modified 20-lap Races, Saturday, 6 p.m.