Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

The Health Association of Niagara County Inc. presented six awards at its annual meeting and luncheon last week at Niagara Falls Country Club in Lewiston.

Network in Aging of Western New York Inc. received the Outstanding Partner Award for providing opportunities for resource exchange, professional development and partnerships enhancing the association’s efforts to improve the quality of life for older persons and their families.

Also honored were Anthony Restaino, commissioner of the Niagara County Department of Social Services, who received the Chris Richbart Heart of HANCI Award for working collaboratively in support of the association and numerous other nonprofit organizations in the Niagara community.

The Outstanding Sponsor Award went to First Niagara Bank, which supports the association’s after-school programs and capital projects. The Chairperson’s Award for Distinguished Service was given to James Ward, association board member and executive assistant to State Sen. George Maziarz, for his many years of dedication and service. A Special Recognition Award went to the Rev. Joseph L. Levesque, president of Niagara University, for his commitment to the association and the greater Niagara community.

The high point of the luncheon was the presentation of the Karen Albond Courage in Caring Award, presented annually to an individual who perseveres in service to others despite a disability. Dorothy Rosino, who passed away after a courageous 11-year battle with cancer, is this year’s honoree.

She was nominated by her friend, Karen Gallo, fellow foster grandparent volunteer, who cited Rosino’s tenacity in continuing to tend to her students at 79th Street School, always putting them first.


The EmStar Emergency Department of Mount St. Mary’s Hospital recognized local Emergency Medical Service professionals at an awards dinner last month at Niagara Falls Country Club.

Awards presented include:

Special Recognition, David Slusser, Rural/Metro Medical Services; Best Save, Dennis Osborne and Kelsey Wielgosz, Tri-Community Ambulance Service, and Jim Lines, Sanborn Volunteer Fire Company for their efforts in saving a potential heart attack victim who was found unresponsive; Best Save, Ed Rivers, Patrick Hall and William Kerr, Rural/Metro Medical Services, Captain Joe Eddy, Deputy Chief Richard Silvaroli, Robert Wilkinson, Mark Wright, Frontier Volunteer Fire Company and Deputy Sean Frury, Niagara County Sheriff’s Office, for assisting an 89-year-old victim by applying respirations via bag valve, CPR compressions, and measures administered for a detectable heart rhythm to began; Best Save, Mike Uhrich, Frontier Volunteer Fire Company for assistance to a 33-year-old male not breathing, possible cardiac arrest; Best Save, Eric Weber and Matt Dysard, Rural/Metro Medical Services and Cambria Fire Department for response to a call for a child having a seizure on a school bus who shortly thereafter went unresponsive; Service Recognition, U.S. Coast Guard, Youngstown, for recognition and appreciation in maintaining maritime safety, enforcing security and safety on our waterways.

“The initial treatment provided by the EMS professionals is extremely important and often life-saving,” said Dr. Lloyd Brown W. Brown, chief of Department of Emergency Medicine/EmStar, and organizer of the event.

“We are proud to be associated with the EMS teams that provide the first-responder care to individuals before they are in our care.”


Air National Guard Airman Josh R. Yurchak graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio.

The airman is the son of Pattie Prica of Lockport. He is a 2011 graduate of Lockport High School.


Memorial Medical Center recently honored its volunteers, celebrating their service and commitment at a luncheon held at the Niagara Falls Culinary Institute.

In 2012, some 300 volunteers gave a combined 41,683 hours of service in departments throughout the medical center, Heart Center of Niagara and Schoellkopf Health Center. Volunteer drivers transported 5,731 riders on Memorial’s CARExpress van.

Don Roulley and Joe Currie were cited for volunteering more than 1,000 hours.

Recognized for more than 500 hours of service were Phyllis Corey, Bill Everest, Gino Forte, Diane Glynn, Suzanne Muller, Mel Ricker, Peggy Shenk and Alice Snyder.

Special recognition also was given to volunteers who have served 25 years or more.

Peggy Addoms topped the longevity list with 55 years of service, followed by Marion Baker, Ida Garrison, Alanna Wustrack, Mary Norton, Alice Avdoian, Anne Hesson, Anna Martha, Bertha Frank, Danny Giancola, Betty Augustyn, Donna Hindle, Jane Schroeder, Peggy Shenk and Ida Mayflower.