Share this article

print logo

The St. Mary's girls volleyball team made it back-to-back victories on Saturday winning the 12-team Eden Tournament. The Lancers beat Rochester Mercy, the team that won the Frontier Tournament a week ago, in the final 26-15, 26-24.
Leah Meyer was named MVP while teammates Sam Giardina and Jackie Steck were named all-tournament. The Lancers did not drop a game on their way to the crown.
Lancers coach Don Pieczynski said his team was focused all day, although he did tinker with his lineup. "We were a little off to start the day so we mixed it up a little to find the best combinations, and the role players and bench player took advantage of the matchups," he said.
Sacred Heart beat Gowanda to win the inaugural Lake Shore Girls volleyball Tournament. The field included eight teams. The Sharks won 25-10, 25-23, in the final. Shelby O'Neil and Kelly Farrell had six kills each.
Cross Country
TJ Hornberger of Lake Shore ran a 14:51 to finish second in the AA seeded race at the McQuaid Invitational. Ryan Manahan of Marcellus won the race 14:37 over the 3.0 mile course at Genesee Valley Park.
In the girls seeded AA race the top four times were within three seconds. Sweet Home sophomore Aileen Doyle ran a 17:34 to win by a one-second margin. Ally Ortega was third for the Panthers in 17:36. Livia Chase of Starpoint was fourth in 17:37. As a team, East Aurora was second, 16 points behind Burnt Hills.
Mount St. Mary's had three runners under 20 minutes to win the A-2 unseeded race. The Thunder was led by junior Hailey Rose Gattuso, who finished in fifth place among of 318 runners in 19:12, which was 30 seconds faster than last year's time. Kirsten Holmberg of Falconer was second in 18:55 and Kaylea Rustay of JFK was fourth in 19:05.
Daniel Huben ran a 15:24 as Clarence won the AAA unseeded race beating St. Joe's by six points. St. Joe's was led by Connor Tumiel's sixth-place finish in 16:12 while Zack Kuloszewski of Clarence was seventh .
Marissa Saenger of Clarence won the AA unseeded race in 17:34. Teammate Katrina Patterson was fifth in 18.23.
Boys Volleyball
Tyler Eagleton ran away with MVP honors as the Orchard Park boys volleyball team beat Penfield in three games to win the 23rd annual Webster-Schroeder Invitational. OP co-coach Matt Lexner said the senior outside hitter came of age during the event and was simply unstoppable. Teammates Kevin Donahue and Trey Cimorelli were named all-tournament.
It was the seventh time OP has won the tourney since 2001.
After eliminating Spencerport in the semifinals, the Quakers downed Penfield, 25-22, 21-25, 25-22 in the final. Penfield is considered one of the top three teams in the Rochester area. The teams were well-matched with similar size, ball control and consistency. "Both teams really got after the serve," Lexner said. "In the end, we really pulled out some super serving and stuff-blocking to score."
. The Williamsville North boys volleyball team won the 21st annual Williamsville South Tournament for the second time in three years. North beat the Billies in the final, 25-21, 25-19.
Tyler Penberthy, who plays the middle and outside, was named MVP. For South, Anthony Podgorsak had 35 kills in 10 games over the course of the day.