Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

John C. Dwyer of Batavia has received the Genesee Community College Foundation's Alpha Award for Service. Dwyer served as chairman for several years for the foundation that raises money for scholarships. He is a retired shoe store retailer and for years headed the Genesee County Industrial Development Agency, now known as the county's Economic Development Center.


The Epilepsy Association of WNY, a nonprofit agency solely dedicated to helping individuals and their families cope with and adjust to epilepsy and/or seizure disorders, named Richard M. Hilliker president of its 2012 board of directors. Hilliker is president of S.C. Parker and Co. Other officers include: vice president, Carrie Silliman, a nurse practitioner at Erie County Medical Center; treasurer, Karen Kerr, assistant controller at Benderson Development Co.; secretary, Ramona R. Santa Maria, an assistant professor of Computer Information Systems at Buffalo State College; and assistant secretary, Julie A. Gross, the back care program coordinator at BlueCross/BlueShield of Western New York.

Directors include: Colleen Reddington Brennan, director of government grants at D'Youville College; Milburn E. Crotzer, an adjunct mathematics professor at Canisius College; Mary Ellen Frandina, executive vice president of organizational development and employee experience at Evans Bank; David Hetherly, a teacher with the Buffalo Public Schools; Marian Hetherly, a public relations and grants specialist; Edward J. Morrison, chief marketing officer at the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine; and Christopher Zulawski, a certified nurse practitioner at DENT Neurologic Institute.


Seneca Nation President Robert Odawi Porter was honored with a distinguished alumnus award for a local graduate by the Syracuse University's Western New York Alumni Association. Porter graduated from Syracuse with a bachelor of arts degree in political science and economics and later received his law degree from Harvard Law School.

Porter, who was elected president in November 2010, took a leave from his position as professor of law, Dean's Research Scholar of Indigenous Nations Law and director, Center for Indigenous Law, Governance & Citizenship, College of Law at Syracuse University. His two-year term ends in November.


Cadet Lawrence Tyler Collins graduated with honors from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point recently. While at West Point, Collins concentrated his studies in mechanical engineering. He was commissioned as a second lieutenant within the Army Corps of Engineers branch and will report to Fort Irwin, Calif., for his first assignment. Collins, grandson of Lawrence and Pearl Collins of Hamburg, graduated from Lampeter-Strasburg High School near Lancaster, Pa., in 2008.


Ryan Gerhardt of East Aurora, a graduating senior at Syracuse University's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, received the Newhouse Advertising Department Award for Academic Excellence, for a senior advertising major who has achieved an exceptional academic record.


Michael Glick, professor of oral medicine and dean of the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine, was presented with the Samuel Charles Miller Award, the highest academic award given by the American Academy of Oral Medicine, conferred at its 66th annual meeting in April. The AAOM was founded in 1945 and is the membership organization representing the discipline of oral medicine.

Glick received the award in recognition of his outstanding academic and clinical achievements, specifically his pioneering work with dental management of patients with HIV/AIDS, as well as patients with other medically complex conditions. A proponent for dentists to become involved in the overall health and well-being of their patients, he is regarded as a leader in clinical dental care/oral medicine for medically complex patients.

Glick, who became UB dean in December 2009, is the immediate past president of the American Board of Oral Medicine and serves as the editor of JADA, a peer-reviewed dentistry journal.

He has twice been the recipient of the American Dental Education Association's William J. Gies Foundation First Place Editorial Award and also received the Edward B. Shills Entrepreneurial Education Award for his innovative, medicine-oriented approach to dental care.

Glick has authored more than 200 journal publications, numerous book chapters and has co-edited several textbooks. He serves on several national and global committees, including as chairman of the Science Committee for FDI, the World Dental Federation.


Fiona Hennig, a 2012 graduate of City Honors School, is the first recipient of the Drake M. Francescone Memorial Scholarship. The $8,000 award is made possible through a contribution in Drake's name made by his father, Joseph R. Francescone.

Hennig was a full diploma candidate in the school's International Baccalaureate Program, a four-year member of the Roswell Park Science Research Program and captain of her soccer, basketball and track teams. She was nominated for the award by her physical education teacher, Andrew Krause, as a student who exemplified the characteristics of a model physical education student.

She plans to attend Cornell University in the fall.


Dr. Anne B. Curtis, professor and chairwoman of the department of medicine in the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has received the 2012 Distinguished Service Award from the Heart Rhythm Society.

The award recognizes her outstanding contributions to the Heart Rhythm Society, which she has served in a number of capacities, including as president in 2006. Currently, she is chairwoman of the society's ethics committee.

Curtis is a leading clinical cardiac electrophysiologist and an expert in cardiac arrhythmias. Her clinical research has significantly advanced knowledge of human cardiac electrophysiology and heart-rhythm abnormalities.