Share this article

print logo

Bisons voice Wagner to lead Triple-A All-Star radio coverage; fan balloting ends Friday

Bisons radio/TV voice Ben Wagner has been named one of the two broadcasters for the radio network that will broadcast the Triple-A All-Star Game July 11 in Coca-Cola Field. Wagner, in his sixth season with the Herd, is carving out a Hall of Fame career of his own in the same vein as predecessors Jim Rosenhaus and Pete Weber and current analyst Duke McGuire. His voice is heard on WWKB Radio as well as the Time Warner Cable broadcasts, which have been picked up over the years by SNY and Versus.

Wagner will be joined by Fresno voice Doug Greenwald, who is in his 10th season with the Grizzlies and has filled in on games both in spring training and the regular season for the parent San Francisco Giants.

Fan balloting for the game ends Friday and the Bisons continue to be filling up the leaderboards. Starting pitcher Matt Harvey and closer Fernando Cabrera are both second in their categories and two get voted in (the fan balloting counts for one-third of the vote with media and club officials getting the rest). Outfielder Matt Tuiasosopo is third and three get in.

Gone-to-New-York shortstop Omar Quintanilla continues to lead at shortstop and he might be back soon once Ruben Tejada and Ronny Cedeno finished rehab (and if Quintanilla can clear waivers). Designated hitter Val Pascucci is second to Toledo's Brad Eldred in what the league is calling the closest vote. Vinny Rottino and Fred Lewis of the Herd are 4-5 among outfielders while injured Zach Lutz is second at third base.

In other all-star news:

---The MLB Network television broadcast, widely panned last year when "Intentional Talk" hosts Chris Rose and Kevin Millar talked about everything but the game in Salt Lake City, will have a much better crew this year. Studio host Paul Severino, who has done play by play in the Arizona Fall League, will call the action along with Jonathan Mayo, the draft and prospect expert for The sideline reporter will be longtime ABC/ESPN reporter Samantha Ryan.

---Named as umpires are Mark Lollo (IL-home), Shaun Francis (PCL-1st), Toby Basner (IL-2nd) and Clint Fagan (PCL-3rd).

---Mike Harrington

There are no comments - be the first to comment