Share this article

print logo

Starting Line / This week's racing

> NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Fedex 400. Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m., 2:30-4:30 p.m.), Saturday, qualifying (Speed, noon-1:30 p.m.), Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (Ch. 29, 12:30-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth raced to the second of his three 2011 victories, leading the final 32 laps after taking only two tires on the final pit stop.

Last week: Kasey Kahne pulled away in the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte, winning NASCAR's longest race for the third time for his first victory for Hendrick Motorsports. Denny Hamlin was second.

Pit stops: Jimmie Johnson has six victories on the concrete oval, one behind Richard Petty and Bobby Allison for the track record. Johnson swept the 2009 races. Kurt Busch won at the track in October. Kyle Busch swept the 2010 races. Greg Biffle leads the season standings, 10 points ahead of Roush Fenway teammate Kenseth. Dale Earnhardt Jr., fourth in the standings, leads the series with nine top-10 finishes and is the only driver to complete all 3,888 laps this season. He's winless in 141 races. The race is Fox's final event of the season. TNT will broadcast the next six races, and ESPN/ABC will show the final 17.

Next race: Pocono 400, June 10, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pa.

> Nationwide

Event: 5-Hour Energy 200. Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 12:30-2:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10:30-11:30 a.m.), race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Carl Edwards survived a wreck-filled final lap for the third of his eight 2011 victories. He also won at the track in October.

Last week: Brad Keselowski won at Charlotte, leading the final 67 laps.

Pit stops: Defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. leads the season standings, 13 points ahead of Elliott Sadler. Stenhouse has three victories this season, and Sadler has won twice. Cup driver Joey Logano, also a three-time winner, is driving Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 Toyota. Kurt Busch will pilot the No. 54 Toyota owned by brother Kyle Busch. Kurt Busch won at Richmond in the car. Next race: Alliance Truck Parts 250, June 16, Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, Mich.

> Camping World Truck

Event: Lucas Oil 200. Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Speed, 10-11 a.m.), race, 4:50 p.m. (Speed, 4:30-7:30 p.m., 8:30-11 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the third of his six 2011 victories.

Last race: Justin Lofton won at Charlotte on May 18 for his first series victory, getting the jump on leader Brad Keselowski on a late restart. The victory also was the first for Eddie Sharp Racing.

Pit stops: Lofton has a one-point lead over Timothy Peters in the season standings. Ty Dillon is third, 16 points behind Lofton. The race is the sixth of the season. John King won the opener at Daytona, Kevin Harvick won at Martinsville, Kasey Kahne at Rockingham, and James Buescher at Kansas.

Next race: WinStar World Casino 400, June 8, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.

> Indycar

Event: Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix. Site: Detroit.

Schedule: Friday, practice, Saturday, practice, qualifying; Sunday, race, 3:45 p.m. (ABC, 3:30-6 p.m.).

Track: The Raceway at Belle Isle Park (street course, 2.07 miles).

Race distance: 184.5 miles, 90 laps.

Last year: Inaugural race.

Last week: Dario Franchitti won the Indianapolis 500 for the third time. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver won a wheel-to-wheel, last-lap battle with Takuma Sato, their tires briefly touching to send Sato spinning hard into the wall. Ganassi teammate Scott Dixon finished second.

Pit stops: The CART series ran at Belle Isle from 1992 to 2001, and IndyCar raced at the circuit in 2007 and 2008. Franchitti won the 1999 race. Penske Racing's Helio Castroneves swept the 2000-01 races. Penske's Will Power, the winner this year on road and street courses at Barber, Long Beach and Sao Paulo, leads the season standings. Castroneves won the season-opening race on the St. Petersburg street course. Next race: Firestone 550, June 9, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.

> NHRA Full Throttle

Event: NHRA Supernationals. Site: Englishtown, N.J.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 4:30-6 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 4:30-7 p.m.).

Track: Old Bridge Township Raceway Park.

Last year: Spencer Massey won the Top Fuel competition, beating Del Worsham in the final. Mike Neff won the Funny Car competition, Allen Johnson topped the Pro Stock field, and Matt Smith took the Pro Stock Motorcycle final.

Last event: Jack Beckman won the Summernationals on May 20 in Topeka, Kan., for his first Funny Car victory of the season. David Grubnic took the Top Fuel final, and Allen Johnson topped the Pro Stock field.

Pit stops: In 2008, Scott Kalitta was killed after his Funny Car burst into flames and crashed at the end of the track during qualifying. As a safety measure following Kalitta's death, the NHRA cut the length of Top Fuel and Funny Car races from a quarter-mile to 1,000 feet -- a reduction of 320 feet. Massey, a three-time winner in the first eight events this year, leads the Top Fuel standings -- 12 points ahead of Tony Schumacher. Robert Hight tops the Funny Car standings, 179 points ahead of Ron Capps. Hight won four straight events from February to April.

Next race: Thunder Valley Nationals, June 15-17, Bristol Dragway, Bristol, Tenn.

> Formula One

Next race: Canadian Grand Prix, June 10, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal.

> Western New York

Dunn Tire Raceway Park: IHRA Drag Racing, Friday, 7 p.m.; Sportsman Summer Slam 100, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland: Late Model 50, Saturday, 5 p.m. Ransomville Speedway- Stock Cars-Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Raceway 5: Dirt Track Stock Car Racing, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.

New Humberstone: New Humberstone Weekly Series, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Wyoming County: Kid's Sticker Day, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: $5,000-to-win United E-Mod Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Lake Erie: Late Model 100, Saturday, 6 p.m.