Share this article

print logo

Starting Line / This week's racing

> Indycar

Event: Indianapolis 500

Site: Indianapolis.

Schedule: Friday, Carb Day, including Firestone Freedom 100 Indy Lights race (NBC Sports Network, 11 a.m.-4 p.m.); Sunday, race, noon (Ch. 7, 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m.).

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 500 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Dan Wheldon raced to an improbable victory when leader JR Hildebrand skidded high into the wall on the final turn. Last race: Will Power raced to his third straight victory of the year and third in a row in the Sao Paulo 300 on April 29, extending Team Penske's season-opening winning streak to four. Ryan Hunter-Reay was second.

Pit stops: Penske Racing's Ryan Briscoe took the pole Saturday with a four-lap average of 226.484 mph. He completed the 10-mile run 0.0023 seconds faster than Andretti Autosport's James Hinchcliffe. The previous closest pole margin was in 1970 when Al Unser edged Johnny Rutherford by 0.01 seconds. Andretti's Hunter-Reay will start third, followed by teammate Marco Andretti and Penske's Power and Helio Castroneves, the race winner in 2001, 2002 and 2009. Castroneves is trying to match the race record of four victories held by Unser, A.J. Foyt and Rick Mears. Roger Penske has fielded a record 15 winners. Next race: Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix, June 3, The Raceway at Belle Isle Park, Detroit.


> NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Coca-Cola 600

Site: Concord, N.C.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 3:30-5 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 7-8:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 10-11 a.m., 1-2 p.m.); Sunday, race, 6 p.m. (Ch. 29, 5:30-10:30 p.m.).

Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 600 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Kevin Harvick raced to the third of his four 2011 victories, taking the lead when Dale Earnhardt Jr. ran out of gas on the final lap. David Ragan was second, and Earnhardt finished seventh.

Last week: Jimmie Johnson won the All-Star race at Charlotte for the third time, winning the first 20-lap segment, riding around at the back of the field for the next 60, then pulling away in the 10-lap finale.

Pit stops: Johnson has six Charlotte victories. The five-time series champion won five times in a six-race stretch at the track -- taking the 2003 Coca-Cola 600 and sweeping the spring and fall races in 2004 and 2005 -- and also won the 2009 fall race. Two weeks ago at Darlington in the last official race, Johnson gave Hendrick Motorsports its 200th Sprint Cup victory. Jeff Gordon won the 1994 race for his first Cup victory. He also won in 1997 and 1998, and has two Charlotte fall victories. Next race: FedEx 400, June 3, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.


> Nationwide

Event: History 300

Site: Concord, N.C.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 2-3:30 p.m., 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.), race, 2:45 p.m. (ABC, 2:30-5:30 p.m.).

Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth won, passing Carl Edwards with two laps to go. The Roush Fenway Racing teammates aren't entered this year.

Last week: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. raced to his third straight victory at Iowa Speedway and third win of year, leading 209 of 250 laps. The Roush Fenway driver extended his lead in the standings to 34 points over Elliott Sadler, also second in the race.

Pit stops: Kyle Busch is making his sixth series start of the season, driving his own No. 54 Toyota. Winless in Nationwide competition this year, Busch raced to his last 36 victories and 38 of series-record 51 wins in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 Toyota. Denny Hamlin will drive Gibbs' No. 18 Toyota. Joey Logano, a three-time winner this year, will pilot Gibbs' No. 20 Toyota. Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski and Kasey Kahne also are entered. Next race: 5-hour Energy 200, June 2, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.


> Camping World Truck

Next race: Lucas Oil 200, June 1, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.

Last week: Justin Lofton raced to his first series victory, getting the jump on leader Brad Keselowski on a late restart and holding on at Charlotte.


> Formula One

Event: Monaco Grand Prix

Site: Monte Carlo, Monaco.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Speed, 7:30-10 a.m.).

Track: Circuit de Monaco (street course, 2.075 miles).

Race distance: 161.9 miles, 78 laps.

Last year: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel raced to the fifth of his 2011 victories en route to his second straight season title, beating Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.

Last race: Pastor Maldonado held off Alonso in the Spanish Grand Prix on May 13, giving Williams its first F1 victory in eight years. The celebration quickly gave way to concern when a fire in the team garage left more than 30 people injured.

Pits stops: Vettel won the Bahrain Grand Prix on April 22 for his lone victory in five races this season. Vettel and Alonso, the winner in Malaysia, top the standings with 61 points. Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher has a record 91 victories, winning at Monaco in 1994, '95, '97, '99 and 2001.

Next race: Canadian Grand Prix, June 10, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal.


> NHRA Full Throttle

Next race: NHRA Supernationals, June 1-3, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park, Englishtown, N.J.

Last week: Jack Beckman raced to his first Funny Car victory of the season, beating Don Schumacher Racing teammate Ron Capps in the Summernationals in Topeka, Kan. David Grubnic won the Top Fuel division, and Allen Johnson topped the Pro Stock field.


> WNY starting line

Dunn Tire Raceway Park: Outlaw Blown Quick 8 Series, Friday, 7 p.m.; Kids' Day Stock Cars, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland: WNY Heroes Night, Saturday, 5 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: 358 Modified 50-Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Raceway 5: Dirt Track Stock Car Racing, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m

New Humberstone: Autograph Night, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Little Valley: $3,000-to-win Super Late Models/$1,000-to-win BRP Can-Am Series, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

Wyoming County: Raceway 5/WCIS Mini Stock Challenge Series, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: Patriot Sprint Tour, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Lake Erie: Season Opener, Saturday, 6 p.m.