Share this article

print logo

High School Extra / News and notes

Clarence boys lax downs Orchard Park

The Clarence boys lacrosse team survived a game of runs to hand Orchard Park a 13-11 loss on Monday night under the lights at Clarence.

The Red Devils lost to the Quakers, 14-5, in the season's first meeting, but this time they led most of the way and were able to hold off the Quakers when they made their expected runs.

The win was the first for Clarence over Orchard Park since beating them, 7-5, in last year's Section VI Class A final, snapping the Quakers' amazing 16-year reign as champions.

"You gotta enjoy this," said Clarence coach Mike Silverstein, whose team led, 7-2, at halftime. "I got a little upset letting them back in the game, and making me older, but it doesn't get much better than this."

Silverstein lauded the play of his goalie, senior Kyle Hartle, who had 14 saves. Hartle was making just his third start since replacing Nate Martina, who broke his thumb in the first game at OP. Alec Dietsch netted five goals and had two assists. Troy Boller added four goals.


All-State boys basketball team named

Four players from Section VI earned first team All-New York State honors in boys basketball by the NYS Sportswriter's Association. News Player of the Year Stan Wier of East Aurora, was first team in Class A. He is joined on the first team by Ryan Whelpley of Walsh, Adam Frasier of MST Seneca and Nick Lenart of Panama. The rest of the honorees:

CLASS AA: Third team: Sterling Taplin-10 (Wmsv. North). Fifth team: Jermaine Crumpton-11 (Niagara Falls). Seventh Team: Tommy Campion-11 (Jamestown). Eighth Team: Martin Bailey-12 (Kenmore West). Tenth team: Jaleo Wilkins-11 (Niagara Falls). 12th team: Quinton Campbell-11 (Kenmore West).

CLASS A: First team: Wier-12 (East Aurora). Second team: Reggie Agbeko-12 (St. Joe's). Third team: Matt Hart-12 (Canisius). Fourth team: Adam Weir-11 (Canisius). Sixth team: Connor Keenan-12 (Wmsv. East). Seventh team: Kyle Kobis-12 (Timon). Eighth team: Jordan Williams-12 (Timon). Tenth team: Justice Feggans-11 (Riverside).

CLASS B: First team: Whelpley-12 (Walsh). Third team: Sam Eckstrom-10 (Olean); Wil Bathurst-10 (Olean). Fifth team: Jesse Lalka-12 (Tonawanda). Seventh team: Jake Denz-12 (St. Mary's/Lanc.). Ninth team: Jamaal Carter-12 (City Honors); Erik Simmons-12 (St. Mary's/Lanc.). 11th team: Darnell Carson-11 (CSAT).

CLASS C: First team: Frasier-12 (MST Seneca); Cardell Torres-12 (OTC Middle College). Second team: Jordan Farrant-12 (Holland). Fourth team: Zeddy Williams-11 (Silver Creek). Fifth team: Khalid Brown-12 (OTC Middle College). Sixth team: Dustin Schauman-12 (Cassadaga Valley). Eighth team: Alex Grace-12 (Maple Grove).

CLASS D: First team: Lenart-12 (Panama). Fourth team: Adam Walker-12 (Clymer).


Winter storms to four goals for Nichols

The Nichols girls lacrosse team got four goals and four assists from Kristen Winter in a 13-7 decision over visiting Orchard Park. Emily Janiga added three goals and Shelby Wilde and Kendall Appelbaum had two. Senior Spring Sanders, who has signed with Northwestern, was key on defense forcing turnovers. The Quakers' Madeline Nowakowski scored six of her team's seven goals.


Unbeatens carry Orchard Park tennis

The Orchard Park boys tennis team clinched at least a share of the ECIC I title while improving to 10-0 during a 5-0 win over West Seneca West in a match played at Southtowns. The Quakers' No. 3 singles Tommy Baldinger and the doubles teams of Dominic Eusanio-Ryan Coppola and Kevin Zablonski-Alex Korach are undefeated to date.

The ECIC Tennis Championships are Friday and Saturday at Sweet Home.