Share this article

print logo

Bandits notebook: Grant wins MVP

The voting for the most valuable player in the National Lacrosse League in 2012 turned out to be rather predictable.

John Grant Jr. of Colorado captured the award. Grant set the league scoring record for points in a season with 116, breaking the mark held by John Tavares of the Bandits at 115. Tavares set his record in a 14-game season, while Grant only played in 14 of the 16 games this past season.  Grant was a big reason why Colorado improved its record by six games this season. The Mammoth have the No. 2 seeding in the West and will open the playoffs with Minnesota on Saturday.

Grant also won the MVP award in Rochester in 2007. Garrett Billings of Toronto was second, followed by Dan Dawson of Philadelphia. The league will be announcing its year-end awards over the course of the next three weeks.

The Bandits, meanwhile, will also play Saturday night in Toronto in the first round of the playoffs.

--- Budd Bailey

There are no comments - be the first to comment