Share this article

print logo

Starting Line / This week's auto racing

>Sprint Cup

Event: Capital City 400

Site: Richmond, Va.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, noon-3:30 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (FOX, 7-11 p.m.).

Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch won the spring race for the third straight year, stretching his final tank of gas 107 laps. Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin was second.

Last week: Hamlin raced to his second victory of the season, holding off Martin Truex Jr. at Kansas Speedway. Hamlin also won in Phoenix.

Pit stops: Hamlin, from nearby Chesterfield, won the 2009 and 2010 September races at the track. He also will compete in the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown on Thursday night (Speed, 8:30-10 p.m.). The charity race for late model stock cars benefits the Virginia driver's foundation. Kevin Harvick won at the track last September. Kyle Busch won the 2009 and 2010 spring events. He's winless in 20 races. Defending series champion Tony Stewart also has two victories in the first eight races.

Next race: Aaron's 499, May 6, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.




Event: Virginia 529 College Savings 250

Site: Richmond, Va.

Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (ESPN2, 4-5:30 p.m.); race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).

Race distance: 187.5 miles, 250 laps.

Last year: Denny Hamlin dominated on his hometown track, beating Paul Menard in the race that ended under caution.

Last race: Defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won at Texas on April 13 for Roush Fenway's fourth straight Nationwide victory at the track.

Pit stops: Action sports star Travis Pastrana will make his Nationwide debut, driving for RAB Racing in an alliance with Michael Waltrip Racing. Elliott Sadler, from Emporia, Va., leads the season standings, four points ahead of Stenhouse. Sadler has two victories this season. Hamlin is racing along with fellow Cup drivers Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne and Kurt Busch.

Next race: Aaron's 312, May 5, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.



>Camping World Truck

Next race: N.C. Education Lottery 200, May 18, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

Last week: James Buescher raced to his first series victory, passing Brad Keselowski with 10 laps left and pulling away at Kansas Speedway.




Event: Sao Paulo Indy 300

Site: Sao Paulo.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 6-7 p.m.); Sunday, race, 11:30 a.m. (NBC Sports Network, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.).

Track: Streets of Sao Paulo (street course, 2.536 miles).

Race distance: 195.2 miles, 75 laps.

Last year: Penske Racing's Will Power won the rained-delayed race for the second of his six 2011 victories.

Last race: Power raced to his second straight victory to keep Penske perfect in three races this season, winning at Long Beach on April 15.

Pit stops: The race is the fourth of the season. Helio Castroneves won the opener at St. Petersburg, and Power swept the Birmingham and Long Beach races.

Next race: Indianapolis 500, May 27, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis.



>NHRA Full Throttle

Event: NHRA Spring Nationals

Site: Baytown, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 6-8 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Royal Purple Raceway.

Last year: Del Worsham won the Top Fuel final en route to the season title, beating Al-Anabi teammate Larry Dixon. Worsham retired after the season.

Last event: Robert Hight won the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals in Concord, N.C., on April 15 to become the fifth Funny Car driver to win four straight races.

Pit stops: Hight is attempting to tie the Funny Car season record of five straight victories set by Don Prudhomme in 1976 and matched by Cruz Pedregon in 1992 and John Force in 1993 and 1994.

Next race: NHRA Southern Nationals. May, 4-6, Atlanta Dragway, Commerce, Ga.



>Formula One

Next race: Spanish Grand Prix, May 13, Catalunya Circuit, Barcelona, Spain.

Last week: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won the Bahrain Grand Prix for his first victory of the season.