Share this article

print logo

History says 10th pick could pay dividends

The Buffalo Bills are in unchartered territory when it comes to the 10th overall pick in tonight's NFL Draft.

The Bills have never picked No. 10 overall in their history. Of the 42 players taken in that position since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, 19 of them, or 45 percent, have been elected to at least one Pro Bowl. Two are Hall of Famers.

Here are the top 10 No. 10 picks in that time.

10. Chris McAlister, cornerback, Baltimore Ravens (1999-2008), New Orleans Saints (2009) -- A unanimous All-American at Arizona, McAlister was part of some dominant Ravens defenses. Hewas part of Baltimore's Super Bowl championship team in his rookie season. He was elected to three Pro Bowls, two All-Pro teams and made 26 career interceptions.

9. Al Toon, wide receiver, New York Jets (1985-92) -- Toon dominated from 1986-88 for the Jets, making the Pro Bowl and All-Pro teams in all three years. He finished with 246 receptions for 3,219 yards and 18 touchdowns over that stretch. Toon retired in 1992 at 29 years old because of concussions. He was believed to have suffered at least nine in his eight-year career.

8. Jeff Siemon, linebacker, Minnesota Vikings (1972-82) -- A college football Hall of Famer, Siemon played middle linebacker for the Vikings in three Super Bowls (VIII, IX and XI). Siemon was elected to four Pro Bowls. He played in 156 career games and had 11 interceptions.

7. Willie Anderson, offensive tackle, Cincinnati Bengals (1996-2007), Baltimore Ravens (2008) -- A four-time Pro Bowl and All-Pro selection from 2003-06, Anderson started 173 games and appeared in 181 during his 13-year career. Fun story: Anderson could reportedly bench press 675 pounds during his rookie season.

6. Gary Green, cornerback, Kansas City Chiefs (1977-83), L.A. Rams (1984-85) -- Green made the Pro Bowl four times during his nine-year career, during which he intercepted 33 passes.

5. Isiah Robertson, linebacker, L.A. Rams (1971-78), Buffalo Bills (1979-82) -- The 1971 Defensive Rookie of the Year would make six Pro Bowls and was a first-team All-Pro four times with the Rams. After being traded to the Bills, he signed a four-year, $1 million contract, making him one of the game's highest-paid linebackers. Robertson had 96 tackles in '79 and 85 in '80, when the Bills finished 11-5 and won the Eastern division.

4. Terrell Suggs, linebacker, Baltimore Ravens (2003-present) -- An all-American at both the high school and college levels, Suggs has been a terror at every level. The five-time Pro Bowler was voted the 2011 Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year and a first-team All-Pro. He leads the Ravens in career sacks with 82.5 and isn't done yet.

3. Jerome Bettis, running back, L.A./St. Louis Rams (1993-95), Pittsburgh Steelers (1996-2005) -- The hefty running back made six Pro Bowls and was a three-time All-Pro. He won the NFL Comeback Player of the Year award in 1996 in his first season with the Steelers and ultimately played 13 years, rushing for 13,662 yards and 91 touchdowns. Bettis' career ended in the best way possible: a win in Super Bowl XL in his hometown of Detroit.

2. Marcus Allen, running back, L.A. Raiders (1982-92), Kansas City Chiefs (1993-97) -- The Super Bowl XVIII MVP is 12th on the NFL's career rushing yards list with 12,243. Allen had a nose for the end zone: his 145 career TDs ranks sixth all time. Allen made six Pro Bowls, was a two-time first-team All-Pro and was named the NFL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year in 1985. He was inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2003.

1. Rod Woodson, defensive back, Pittsburgh Steelers (1987-1996), San Francisco 49ers (1997), Baltimore Ravens (1998-2001), Oakland Raiders (2002-03) -- One of the best defensive players ever, Woodson made 11 Pro Bowls and was a first-team All-Pro selection six times. The 1993 NFL Defensive Player of the Year had 71 career interceptions, third-most all-time, and his 1,483 yards on interception returns is an NFL record. Woodson won Super Bowl XXXV with the Ravens. He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2009.



10th overall picks since AFL-NFL merger

2011, Jacksonville, Blaine Gabbert, QB, Missouri

2010, Jacksonville, Tyson Alualu, DT, Cal

2009, San Francisco, Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech

2008, New England, Jerod Mayo, LB, Tennessee*

2007, Houston, Amobi Okoye, DT, Louisville

2006, Arizona, Matt Leinart, QB, USC

2005, Detroit, Mike Williams, WR, USC

2004, Houston, Dunta Robinson, CB, South Carolina

2003, Baltimore, Terrell Suggs, OLB, Arizona State*

2002, Cincinnati, Levi Jones, OT, Arizona State

2001, Green Bay, Jamal Reynolds, DE, Florida State

2000, Baltimore, Travis Taylor, WR, Florida

1999, Baltimore, Chris McAlister, CB, Arizona*

1998, Baltimore, Duane Starks, DB, Miami

1997, New Orleans, Chris Naeole, G, Colorado

1996, Cincinnati, Willie Anderson, OT, Auburn*

1995, San Francisco, J.J. Stokes, WR, UCLA

1994, Arizona, Jamir Miller, LB, UCLA*

1993, L.A. Rams, Jerome Bettis, RB, Notre Dame*

1992, Seattle, Ray Roberts, OT, Virginia

1991, Detroit, Herman Moore, WR, Virginia*

1990, New England, Ray Agnew, DE, N.C. State

1989, Phoenix, Eric Hill, LB, LSU

1988, N.Y. Giants, Eric Moore, G, Indiana

1987, Pittsburgh, Rod Woodson, CB, Purdue*

1986, Philadelphia, Keith Byars, RB, Ohio State*

1985, N.Y. Jets, Al Toon, WR, Wisconsin*

1984, N.Y. Jets, Russell Carter, S, Southern Methodist

1983, N.Y. Giants, Terry Kinard, DB, Clemson*

1982, Oakland, Marcus Allen, RB, USC*

1981, Cincinnati, David Verser, WR, Kansas

1980, Seattle, Jacob Green, DE, Texas A&M*

1979, Detroit, Keith Dorney, OT, Penn St. *

1978, N.Y. Giants, Gordon King, OT, Stanford

1977, Kansas City, Gary Green, DB, Baylor*

1976, Detroit, James Hunter, DB, Grambling

1975, San Francisco, Jimmy Webb, DT, Mississippi St.

1974, San Francisco, Bill Sandifer, DT, UCLA

1973, Baltimore Colts, Joe Ehrmann, DT, Syracuse *

1972, Minnesota, Jeff Siemon, LB, Stanford *

1971, L.A. Rams, Isiah Robertson, LB, Southern*

1970, New Orleans, Ken Burrough, WR, Texas Southern*

* - Pro Bowler