Share this article

print logo

Police Department promotes 21 members

Twenty-one members of the Buffalo Police Department were promoted Monday to supervisory and investigative ranks a step Mayor Byron W. Brown says will help reduce departmental overtime costs.

The biggest impact on cutting overtime, Brown said, will occur with the 13 new lieutenants.

"We had a number of vacancies, and this will ensure efficient operations and result in overtime savings," Brown said, adding that a class of 44 police recruits will soon graduate and begin patrolling the city.

Three of the new lieutenants who served as detectives are Louis A. Kelly, Anthony J. McHugh and Jeffrey Rinaldo.

Police officers promoted to lieutenant are Michael J. Alberti, David M. Cieply, Michael A. Delong, Shawn M. Dowell, Darren P. Labedz, Rickey V. Lark, George P. McLean, Thomas J. Moran, Ivan A. Watkins and Michael W. Watkins. The Watkinses are not related.

Promoted from lieutenant to captain is Patrick A. Roberts.

Officers promoted to detective are Earl E. Perrin Jr., Shawn D. Adams, Joseph W. Glendinning, Raymond M. Krug, Kevin R. Paul, Margaret M. Serafini and Michael J. Strobele.

The city, the mayor told those promoted, will depend on them even more now that they have begun to move up the ranks.

"Not only do these officers make Buffalo a safe place to live and work and raise a family, but all of Erie County is a safer place because the Buffalo police are on the front lines of protecting the city and region," Brown said.

Police Commissioner Daniel Derenda extended congratulations to the officers and their family members who attended the ceremony in the second-floor training academy at Buffalo Police Headquarters.

Chief of Detectives Dennis J. Richards served as the master of ceremonies.