Share this article

print logo

Around & About / News and notes

Wildcats will go public today

National player of the year Anthony Davis isn't giving away whether he and four teammates from national champion Kentucky will declare for the NBA draft at a news conference today.

But with the possibility that all could leave college early, coach John Calipari says "my guess is we'll need a new batch."

Kentucky announced Monday that Davis, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Marquis Teague, Terrence Jones and Doron Lamb will announce their intentions at a news conference in Lexington, Ky. Davis was in Oklahoma City on Monday night to pick up the Wayman Tisdale Award as the nation's top freshman.

The 6-foot-10 forward won The Associated Press, Naismith and Wooden awards for national player of the year.

When asked about his decision, Davis said: "You've got to wait. It's only a day away."


Pitino's son moves on

Richard Pitino has been hired to replace Isiah Thomas at Florida International, signing a five-year contract Monday afternoon to take over a program that has not posted a winning season in 12 years.

The 29-year-old Pitino is the son of Louisville coach Rick Pitino. The younger Pitino spent this past season as Louisville's associate head coach under his father, helping the Cardinals reach the Final Four.

Thomas was fired by the Panthers on April 6 after going 26-65 in three seasons, including 8-21 this past season.

Elsewhere, Johnny Jones was introduced as LSU's 21st head coach. A former player and assistant coach for the Tigers, Jones was the head coach at North Texas for the last 11 seasons.


Nicklaus may get top honor

The House has voted to bestow the Congressional Gold Medal on golfing great Jack Nicklaus.

Nicklaus was cited for his golfing achievements, including a record 18 major championships, and his humanitarian work. Nicklaus heads the Nicklaus Children's Health Care Foundation and has raised more than $12 million to support pediatric health services.

The Congressional Gold Medal is awarded to prominent military leaders, public servants, athletes and artists.

Nicklaus golfing contemporary Arnold Palmer received the award in 2009. The legislation now goes to the Senate for a vote.

From News Staff and wire service reports