Share this article

print logo

All-conference honors galore for Bona women

After sweeping through the Atlantic 10 regular season schedule unbeaten, the St. Bonaventure women's basketball team made an impressive haul of the conference's postseason awards Wednesday.

Bona seniors Jessica Jenkins and Megan Van Tatenhove were named to the first team All-Conference and first team All-Conference Academic teams. Junior Alaina Walker was named to the All-Defensive team and Bonnies coach Jim Crowley was selected Coach of the Year.

Also, Jenkins joined elite company nationally when she was named as one of the 30 finalists for the Naismith Women's College Player the Year by the Atlanta Tipoff Club members. She is the only player from the A-10 named. The award will be presented April 1 at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Denver. Fan voting will account for 25 percent of the final result. Details for public participation will be announced later this month.

Walker is the first Bona player ever named to the first unit on the All-Defensive team, which was initiated with 2001-02 season.

Crowley guided the Bonnies to the school's first regular season Atlantic 10 championship in any sport after being picked to finish sixth in the preseason poll of A-10 coaches.

Daemen's men's team (20-10) has drawn Bellevue, Neb. (27-5) as its opening-round opponent in the NAIA Division II championship at 9:30 a.m. next Thursday at the College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Mo., in pairings announced Wednesday night. It will be the first appearance in the national tournament for the Wildcats since 2006. Daemen earned the berth by winning the American Mideast Conference tournament.

Also announced Wednesday night: The Daemen women's team will face Morningside of Iowa (25-8) as its first opponent at 8:30 p.m. next Wednesday in the NAIA Division II championship at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City, Iowa. Coach Dave Skolen's Wildcats (23-7) were selected as an at-large entrant.