Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Dr. Datta G. Wagle, a Cheektowaga urologist who is past president of the American Urological Association, will present the highest honor the organization can present this month in South Carolina to Brig. Gen. Bill Fox, who was seriously injured by an improvised explosive device in Iraq. Fox lost 85 percent of his blood volume from a neck wound and spent spent two months recovering in Walter Reed Army Medical Center, where he faced other complications.


The Niagara Regional Police and Victim Services Niagara received nearly 1,500 teddy bears and stuffed toys courtesy of the Niagara Ice Dogs and their fans, who participated in the team's 5th annual Teddy Bear Toss at the Gatorade Garden City Complex.

The toys, collected from the ice surface when the Ice Dogs scored their first goal, were distributed on Dec. 13 to children throughout the Niagara Region who have been involved in critical events or tragic circumstances.

Along with Victim Services Niagara, the organizations who received the stuffed toys include the Child Advocacy Centre, the Salvation Army, Community Care of West Niagara and YWCA Shelter.

Players from the Niagara Ice Dogs and officers from the Niagara Regional Police Service's Special Enforcement Unit, delivered a number of the toys to the pediatric wards of the St. Catharines General Hospital and the Greater Niagara General Hospital.


Lindsay Frazier, a telephone interviewer in the department of health behavior, earned the $2,000 Eva M. Noles Scholarship at the fourth annual Eva M. Noles Recognition Program held Dec. 2 at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. The annual program honors the legacy of Eva M. Noles, R.N., Buffalo's first African-American registered nurse, who was Roswell Park's director of nursing from 1971 to 1974.

Frazier joined Roswell Park's staff in 2007 and has been a volunteer for the Buffalo/Niagara Witness Project, an outreach program operated through the Office of Cancer Health Disparities Research. She is pursuing a degree in medical technology at the University at Buffalo and plans to continue her work in health care.


LaVonne E. Ansari, Ph.D., CEO and executive director of the Community Health Center of Buffalo, delivered the keynote address during which several Roswell Park staff members and volunteers were recognized for their role in providing cancer education and preventive outreach to underserved communities throughout Western New York.

Among those recognized were Charley Ferguson of the Buffalo Bills Alumni and Minorities Allied for the Need to Understand Prostate Cancer (MAN UP); Kenneth Turner of Roswell Park's Community Advisory Steering Committee; Maria Torres, a volunteer with the Esperanza y Vida program; and Nancy Spencer, a volunteer with the Buffalo/Niagara Witness Project.

Staff and volunteers were also recognized for their contributions to Cruisin' for a Cure, a prostate cancer education and screening event held at Roswell Park in September, including several community leaders: James Anderson, Roland Bittles, Charles Chandler Jr., Charles Chandler III, James Dorsey, Sandi Dorsey, Deborah Gabriel, Karen Hall, Ramon Heron, Angela Leavy, Michael Sweeney and David Von Derau Jr.

Roswell Park support staff for the event were also recognized:

Dr. Donald Trump, Craig Coyne, Annie Deck-Miller, Kathleen Field, Ray Jones, Laura Krolczyk, Thomas Rommel, Richard Satterwhite, Linda Smith, Kimberly Sweeney, Carl Thomas and Roswell Park's Urology Team.


Army Warrant Officer 1 Christopher M. Randolph has graduated from the Warrant Officer Candidate School at Fort Rucker, Ala. The course prepares newly appointed officers for their first duty assignments and all subsequent assignments as warrant officers and chief warrant officers in the active Army, National Guard or Reserve.

Randolph is the son of James E. Randolph of Richmond, Va., and Kimberly J. Babola of Olean. He is a 2001 graduate of Portville Central School and earned a bachelor's degree in 2009 from Alfred State College.


Army Pvt. Dakota O. Irvin has graduated from Basic Combat Training at Fort Sill, Lawton, Okla. During the nine weeks of training, the soldier studied the Army mission and received instruction and training exercises in drill and ceremonies, military justice, armed and unarmed combat and field maneuvers and tactics.

Irvin is the son of Tammy Richardson of Batavia and a 2010 graduate of Batavia High School.


Ann Swan, a community leader in many civic activities in Western New York and a longtime teacher in the Buffalo Public Schools, has been re-elected chairwoman of the Hilbert College board of trustees. She's been affiliated with Hilbert's board since 2004.

In addition to serving as board chairwoman for the second year, Swan also is chairwoman of the board's executive committee and serves on the trustee committee. Previously, she was chairwoman and vice chairwoman of the student affairs committee.

Swan is executive director of the William E. and Ann L. Swan Foundation. She also serves on the boards of several local organizations, including the Buffalo Niagara American Heart Association, Christ the King Seminary, Catholic Diocese of Buffalo Foundation and the YMCA Buffalo Niagara.

Other 2011-12 Hilbert board officers are Gretchen Wylegala, vice chairwoman, and Edward Gelia Jr., secretary.

Wylegala, who has practiced law for more than 25 years, is an assistant U.S. attorney in the U.S. Attorney's Office, Western New York District. Her work in law enforcement has been recognized by the U.S. Justice Department with a 2011 National Crime Victim Service Award and a 2009 Director's Award.

Gelia is executive vice president of Amherst-based United Insurance Agency, a company he's been with for more than 30 years. He is vice president of the Restoration Society Inc., and chairman of the organization's program and personnel committee.


The Eggertsville Hose Company elected their 2012 officers. John Buttino has been re-elected to a fourth term as fire chief of the volunteer company.

Other officers elected to serve are: first assistant fire chief Brian Multerer; second assistant fire chief Kiel Gentry; fire captains Brandon Peters, Jeffrey Gilson and Donald Page; and fire lieutenants Justyn Moore, Patrick Kropp, Ryan MacDougall and Aaron VanSchoonhoven.

Angela Stark was elected captain of EMS and John Whitehead Sr., lieutenant of EMS.

Patrick Galvin has been re-elected to serve his third term as president of the company. Others elected are: vice president David Balduf; recording secretary Stephen Hodges; corresponding secretary Rick Cumpston and treasurer Robert Brand.

James Christopher was re-elected to the board of directors, and James McDonald was re-elected sergeant-at-arms.


Mary Anne Shea, who has been public relations chairwoman for the Grand Island Professional Women's Chapter, New York State Women Inc. for 29 years, will receive the annual Effective Leadership Award for Women in Business, presented each year by Advanced Cancer TheranosTx.

The award is presented to a woman who promotes equality and equity for all women in the workplace, inspires women to achieve their full potential.

Shea was a Senior Customs Inspector assigned to Buffalo/Niagara Falls. Prior to retirement, she was named Federal Woman of the Year for Western New York for her contributions to her community.

Shea started a program called Woman-to-Woman to assist women interested in improving their applications for promotion. In addition to her law enforcement duties, she was Federal Women's Program Manager and Special Emphasis Program Manager for Customs.