Share this article

print logo

Council reorganization set for Tuesday

Leadership positions, committee chairmanships and staffing decisions will be finalized when the Common Council holds its formal reorganization meeting at 2 p.m. Tuesday in Council Chambers.

Majority Leader Richard A. Fontana, who represents Lovejoy, is expected to become the new Council president, unseating Fillmore Council Member David A. Franczyk, who has held the post for eight years.

Fontana has said he has the five votes necessary to obtain the Council presidency, and the move would form a new majority on the nine-member lawmaking body.

The new majority will include University Council Member Bonnie E. Russell, Masten Council Member Demone A. Smith, Ellicott Council Member Darius G. Pridgen and North Council Member Joseph Golombek Jr.

Many see the new majority as being more friendly to Mayor Byron W. Brown than the current majority, composed of Franczyk, Fontana, South Council Member Michael P. Kearns, Niagara Council Member David A. Rivera and Delaware Council Member Michael J. LoCurto.

Fontana has said Smith has enough votes to become the new majority leader. However, Smith says he is one of several lawmakers who may get the post.

Also next week:

*The Council's Civil Service Committee will meet at 9:45 a.m. Wednesday in Council Chambers.

*The Council's Finance Committee will meet at 10 a.m. Wednesday in Council Chambers.

*The Council's Community Development Committee will meet at 1 p.m. Wednesday in Council Chambers.

*The Council's Legislation Committee will meet at 2 p.m. Wednesday in Council Chambers.


There are no comments - be the first to comment