Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

The 100 Club of Buffalo awarded 16 scholarships totaling $20,000 to area students through its Scholarship of Excellence program. High school seniors who are children of active first responders, including law enforcement, fire and/or emergency medical personnel, were eligible candidates. The scholarship honors high school seniors with outstanding achievement in academics, extracurricular/employment activities and community involvement.

2011 scholarship recipients are: Nicholas Buscaglia, a Lancaster High School graduate, plans to attend Cornell University; Alicia Anger, a Frontier High School graduate, has been accepted at Boston University; Evan Shaw graduated from Grand Island High School and will attend the University at Buffalo; Paige Cuddihy is an Orchard Park High School graduate and will attend George Washington University; Adam Zamorek graduated from Canisius High School and will attend Fordham University; Christopher Golinski, a Cleveland Hill High School graduate, plans to attend LeMoyne College; Andrew Baumgartner, a Kenmore East High School graduate, will continue his education at UB; Megan Roberts, an Orchard Park High School graduate, will attend Geneseo State College; Margaret Herdzik, a Mount St. Mary's graduate, will attend UB; Christopher Hayes, a Hamburg High School graduate, will attend UB; Michael Rauff, an Iroquois High School graduate, will attend Morrisville College; Zachary Lomas graduated from St. Joseph's Collegiate Institute and will attend Colgate University; Katherine Merrill, an Amherst High School graduate, will attend St. Bonaventure University; Michael Reinig graduated from Lancaster High School and will attend Buffalo State College; Sean Deacon, a Hamburg High School graduate, will attend Geneseo State; and Lucas Clotfelter, a Canisius High School graduate, will attend Rochester Institute of Technology.


Nurline A. Lawrence, head of school at Christian Central Academy, 39 Academy St., Williamsville, was recently honored by the Jamaican and American Association of Buffalo as the recipient of their annual Outstanding Educator Award in August.

During her 14 years as head of school, CCA has experienced growth and expansion, including doubled enrollment, a new gymnasium, science and art centers, expanded computer capabilities, strengthened curriculum with advanced placement courses, and achievement of accreditation by Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.

Lawrence was born and raised in Jamaica. She immigrated with her late husband, Leslie, and their children to the United States in 1979.


D'Youville College has named three new trustees to its board replacing members whose terms have expired: Sister Mary Karen Kelly, Jamel C. Perkins and George R. Schlemmer.

Sister Mary Karen, a Grey Nun of the Sacred Heart, is the archivist for the order based in Yardley, Pa. A graduate of D'Youville, where she majored in Spanish graduating cum laude, she earned her advanced degrees from Columbia University and LaSalle University. Sister Mary Karen taught in Lima, Peru, for seven years and in the Baltimore Catholic Schools. She also served as vice president of the Grey Nuns.

Perkins is the vice president of information technology for the Delaware North Cos., where he oversees the application of technology worldwide. He graduated from Canisius College, earning advanced degrees in telecommunications management. He serves on the advisory boards of the National Academy Foundation in the West Seneca School District and the Information Technology Board of Erie County. Perkins is also an adjunct professor in the Canisius College Wehle School of Business.

Schlemmer is president and CEO of Industrial Power and Lighting Corp. based in Buffalo. He is president of the NYS Association of Electrical Contractors and has served on its board for 15 years. He served on the local executive board for the Boy Scouts of America for 21 years and is the recipient of the Boy Scouts highest volunteer award. Schlemmer attended the University at Buffalo and Erie Community College.


The Jesuit Advancement Administrators (JAA) recognized Canisius College President John J. Hurley with the 2011 Rev. J. Barry McGannon award at their conference held July 11 at Seattle University.

The award, created in 1994, is the highest honor JAA bestows upon its members, recognition their contributions to the development of institutional advancement and establishing themselves as models for others to emulate.

Hurley is a strong advocate for the work of JAA and served on the board for 10 years, including president from 2005 to 2007. The first lay president in Canisius College's 140-year history, Hurley is a 1978 graduate of the college. He practiced law for 16 years including 13 years at Phillips Lytle before he returned to his alma mater as vice president for college relations.

The college board of trustees appointed Hurley the 24th president of Canisius College on Oct. 19, 2009 and he assumed the position July 1, 2010. Hurley also was appointed by Bishop Edward U. Kmiec to serve on the Fidelis Care New York board of directors, a health maintenance organization that serves the poor in New York State.


Hilbert College President Cynthia Zane has been named vice chairwoman of the board of directors of the Association of Franciscan Colleges and Universities. She also serves on the boards of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities; Conference for Mercy Higher Education; Catholic Health System, where she is chairwoman of the Acute Care Board; and St. Francis High School.

Zane is also chairwoman of the Western New York Higher Education Consortium's Campus Connection Steering Committee and has led the development of a women's leadership institute that will be launched this fall.

Zane assumed office as Hilbert's third president in 2006. Prior to becoming president, she was chief academic officer and dean of the faculty at the College of Mount St. Joseph in Cincinnati. She received the Western New York Network for Women Leaders in Higher Education's 2011 Bernice Poss Award, which honors women in higher education who exemplify noteworthy involvement in organizing activities for the advancement of women professionals, are committed to community services and programs for women, and show support and compassion for colleagues in their daily conduct.

There are no comments - be the first to comment