Share this article

print logo


Wehrle Drive project declared complete

An Erie County project to reconstruct Wehrle Drive in Amherst is done.

Erie County Executive Chris Collins held a news conference Monday to note the completion of the $17 million, multiyear project.

The project reconstructed and widened a 2.2-mile section of Wehrle from the Ellicott Creek bridge to Transit Road.

The road reopened to traffic in July. County workers recently completed other aspects of the project, including end-of-driveway reconstruction and seeding properties along the road.

The project was primarily paid for with federal funds; state transportation dollars paid for 15 percent; and Erie County paid 5 percent.


Conservative Party announces its choices

Erie County Conservatives announced their slate for County Legislature following interview sessions Monday evening. Chairman Ralph C. Lorigo listed Conservative candidates as:

District 1: Democrat Joseph A. Mascia. District 2: no nomination. District 3: Democrat Lynn M. Marinelli. District 4: Republican Kevin J. Hardwick. District 5: Democrat Thomas A. Loughran. District 6: Republican Edward A. Rath III.

Also, District 7: Democrat Thomas J. Mazur. District 8: Democrat Terrence D. McCracken. District 9: Lynne M. Dixon, an Independence member who caucuses with the Republicans. District 10: Conservative Joseph C. Lorigo. District 11: Republican John J. Mills.

The party also nominated Republican Raymond W. Walter for the Assembly seat recently vacated by Republican James P. Hayes.


Two forums scheduled on grant application

Citizens can weigh in on the needs and priorities of low- and moderate-income residents living in the Erie County Community Development Block Grant Consortium area during two forums this week.

Housing, community and economic development needs will be prime topics for discussion at the forums. Information gathered during the meetings will be used by the Erie County Department of Environment and Planning to prepare the 2012 Community Development application.

The consortium comprises 34 municipalities in Erie County, excluding Buffalo, the towns of Amherst, Cheektowaga, Hamburg and Tonawanda, as well as their villages.

The forums will be held:

*7 p.m. today in the Depew Village Office, 85 Manitou St.

*7 p.m. Thursday in Concord Town Hall, 86 Franklin St., Springville.


Forum will help those with limited English

A forum explaining how people with limited English have the right to free interpreting and translating to access government services will be held 4 p.m. today in the Belle Center, 104 Maryland St.

Free interpreters are available, but requests are needed in advance. To do so, make reservations or ask questions, call 852-4191, Ext. 110, or email