Share this article

print logo

Rule book has answers to some tricky situations

How well do you know the rules of tennis? Here is a quiz to test your knowledge:

1. During a heated doubles match, a player on Team A was having trouble holding onto his racket on a very hot, humid day. At 3-3 in the first set the player on Team A had an easy forehand near the service line.

As he started his forehand follow through his racket flew out of his hand, struck the ball, and the shot landed safely on Team B's side. One of the players on Team B caught the ball and said, "That is our point. Once the racket leaves your hand and lands on our side of the court, even though you succesfsully hit the ball over the net, it is still our point."

The players on Team A protested profusely and said that the shot was good, regardless of whether or not the racket had left the player's hand.

What is the correct call? A. It is Team A's point. B. It is Team B's point. C. Replay the point.

2. Years ago, the rules stated that a double hit resulted in the loss of a point. Today, the rules say that as long as there is no deliberate "second hit" the shot is OK.

One player remembers a recent singles match where he knew that the ball had hit the frame twice. His opponent never questioned whether or not the ball hit the frame twice. The player who struck the ball twice felt guilty that he did not say anything.

What should have been done? A. He should have said something. B. He was right not to say anything as the rules stated that he was right. C. Replay the point.

3. During a recent USTA 3.5 singles match Player A hit a drop shot that fell just over the net. Player B ran from the baseline and made a miraculous get to put the ball away for a winner. However, his forward momentum forced him to jump over the net and land on Player A's side of the court.

Player A claimed the point because he said that it was illegal for a player to jump over the net in that manner. Player B claimed that he hadn't touched the net. Therefore, it was his point.

What is the correct decision? A. Player B should join a gymnastic class. B. Player A is correct. C. Player B is correct.

4. Player A tossed the ball up on an especially windy day. He was about to serve when the wind blew the ball away. However, he did not swing at the ball. Regardless, Player B claimed the point. Player A said, "It isn't your point because I did not swing at the ball."

Who is correct? A. Player A is correct. B. Player B is correct. C. Stop the match and play on a calm day to ensure that the wind is not a problem.

5. According to the rules, the choice of ends and the right to be the server or receiver in the first game is usually decided by flipping a coin, or calling "Up or down." Why do some players let their opponent choose what to do when they have won the toss? There is a good reason for this. By forcing your opponent to choose what to do can be a really smart move.

For instance, on a hot, sunny day, it may be very difficult to serve on one side of the court. By having your opponent choose what he wants to do, you have the following choices. If your opponent chooses to serve, then you choose the sunny side. If your opponent chooses to receive, then you choose the good side. If he chooses the good side you should choose to receive. Finally, if he chooses the sunny side, you choose to serve. Any way you look at it you should come out ahead.

What's the call? A. This is good reasoning. B. This is bad reasoning. C. To be fair the player who had to serve the most into the sun the first set should be given the courtesy of serving less times in the second set regardless of the player's serving format.

6. A friend of mine always wear sunglasses on the court because he can't possibly hit an overhead on the side on which the sun is directly in his eyes. However, he is amazed that hardly any pros wear them.

Why is that so? A. Top of the line sunglasses are too expensive. B, Pros are convinced that wearing sunglasses will greatly dull their sharp vision and tracking of the ball. C. They aren't comfortable on their head.

7. During a match Player A hit a sharply angled crosscourt backhand slice that drove Player B to the far part of the court. Barely able to get to the ball, Player B hit the ball by the side of the net post and the ball landed in the court of Player A. Player A claimed the point as he said the ball must go higher than the net post. Player B said the shot was legal, stating that the ball can be an inch off the ground, as long as it lands on his opponent's side of the court, even though it went by the net post.

What's the call? A. The tallest player gets the point. B. Player A is correct. C. Player B is correct.

Answers: 1-B, 2-B, 3-C, 4-A, 5-A, 6-B, 7-B.

> New roles for pair

Tom LaPenna and Todd Miller have a lot in common.

They are both outstanding tennis players and great promoters of the game. Equally important, they are both unanimously recognized as two of the finest teaching professionals in Western New York. For 25 years LaPenna was the owner of the Village Glen until he sold the club five years ago. For the past few years he has been the tennis director at Sportsplex. He is a former UB men's coach, inaugural member of the Buffalo Tennis Hall of Fame, and the coach of many of the finest players in Western New York.

Starting in the first of week of September he will be going back to the Village Glen to become the director of the Glen's High Performance tennis program.

Miller starred at UB under guess who, that's right: Coach LaPenna. Miller is one of only 31 Master Pros in the world, arguably the highest accolade that a tennis coach can attain.

Like LaPenna, he is an inaugural member of the Buffalo Tennis Hall of Fame, the owner of Miller Tennis Center with his wife, Debbie, has coached many of the area's top players, and is well known for bringing and implementing many successful programs at the Miller Tennis Center. He will be in charge of the High Performance program at Miller, effective immediately.


There are no comments - be the first to comment