Share this article

print logo

Countdown to Friday Night Lights begins Saturday; football preview is Sept. 1

Our Countdown to Friday Night Lights is back this year, and we're packing more info into a longer countdown.

Starting with Saturday's paper, we'll take a look at a different division every day until our high school football preview issue on Sept. 1.

The countdown will include a quick review of last year, how the division might look different and a overview of what's in store this season.

Here's the lineup:

Saturday, Aug. 20: Class DD
Sunday, Aug. 21: Class D
Monday, Aug. 22: C South
Tuesday, Aug. 23: C North
Wednesday, Aug. 24: B South
Thursday, Aug. 25: B East
Friday, Aug. 26: B West
Saturday, Aug. 27: A South
Sunday, Aug. 28: A North
Monday, Aug. 29: AA South
Tuesday, Aug. 30: AA North
Wednesday, Aug. 31: Monsignor Martin

The football preview on Sept. 1 will again include divisional breakdowns of each team, including team-by-team schedules, along with a great cover, feature stories and much more. 

You can check out last year's countdown here -- it was shorter (six days) as we looked at the five Section VI classes and the MMA.

Also worth marking on your calendar: The first Scholastic Spotlight of the year will be published Tuesday, Sept. 6.

---Keith McShea

(@KeithMcSheaBN on Twitter)

buffalonews.com/highschools     facebook.com/preptalkblog     twitter.com/bufnewspreptalk

There are no comments - be the first to comment