Share this article

print logo

Bulletin Board / Notes and events

Justin Muise ('06), who in 2003 became Buffalo State's first outdoor track and field All-American since 1984, will lead a class of five into the college's Athletics Hall of Fame during an induction ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 1.

Muise (Kenmore West), who still holds the school record in the outdoor 400-meters (47.06 seconds), was twice voted the Buffalo State Male Athlete of the Year, and earned the Hube Coyer Award for career accomplishments. Other inductees will be: Monique Hanks (basketball, '04), Gina Monaco (soccer, '07) and Tami Thuman (softball, '00). Long-time athletics department physician Dr. Thomas Scanlon will be inducted as an honorary member.

Hanks ranks seventh on the school's all-time scoring list with 1,100 points, fifth in rebounds with 642 and second in steals with 341 in 101 career games. Monaco was a four-time All-SUNYAC performer and is the Bengals' all-time leading scorer with 76 goals and 175 points. Thuman started at shortstop for the softball team for four seasons, helping the Bengals to a SUNYAC Championship and a pair of NCAA regional appearances. She finished her career with a .333 batting average.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be the culmination of the Homecoming/Family Weekend Festivities. For ticket information, contact Senior Associate Athletics Director Tom Koller at (716) 878-6514 or


Five alumni and the 1963 rowing team will be the newest inductees into Canisius High School's Athletic Hall of Fame.

In addition, Thomas H. Keenan will posthumously receive the 2011 John F. Barnes Award, instituted by the Canisius High School Class of 1932 to memorialize legendary coach Johnny Barnes. The award recognizes the achievements of a member of the Canisius High School community who has continued to distinguish himself in the field of athletics.

The individual alumni inductees are: Donald Salva (swimming, football, '53), Lawrence Michael (baseball, '65), Christopher Bonn (hockey, '73) and Brian M. Keenan (basketball, '99).

Members of the 1963 crew include: Gary Schwarzmueller '62, Terrence O'Connor '63, Thomas O'Connor '62, Kevin Cheeley '62, William Fenzel '64, Walter Urban '63, Dick McCormick '63, and William Cromwell '63.

This year's induction will be at 6 p.m. Oct. 1 in the school auditorium, 1180 Delaware Ave.


The Bulletin Board appears twice weekly, Tuesday and Friday. Information must be submitted by mail (c/o Buffalo News, Sports Dept., One News Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14240) or fax (849-4587). Items are limited to one appearance. There is no charge.