Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Achievers and achievements

*David J. Steinwald has been named director of human resources at Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center, effective Monday.

The appointment was announced by Memorial President and Chief Executive Officer Joseph A. Ruffolo and Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Sheila K. Kee.

Steinwald, who both bachelor's and master's degrees in business administration from the University at Buffalo, most recently served as director of human resources for the Eastern Niagara Health System.

He previously worked as human resources manager for ConAgra Foods, Viking Industries and Kraft Foods/Nabisco, and as the coordinator of employee relations for the Erie County Water Authority.


*John Lomeo, president and chief executive officer of the Hospice and Palliative Care Group Inc., announced the 2011-12 board of directors for the group, Niagara Hospice, Niagara Hospice Alliance and Palliative Home Care of Niagara.

Elected officers to the Hospice and Palliative Care Group board are: chairman, Paul Collins, of M&T Bank; vice chairman, Dan Mandaville; secretary, Thomas Hewner, of Cole, Sorrentino, Hurly & Hewner PC; treasurer, James Shaw, a dentist with the Lockport Dental Group; as well as lawyer Andrea Sammarco, Steven Sinclair and Frank Maietta.

Elected officers to the Niagara Hospice board are: chairwoman, Sammarco; vice chairman, Sinclair, of the Wright Investment Group; secretary, Mandaville; and treasurer, Shaw. Directors include Paul Beatty Jr., Mary Brennan-Taylor, Frank DeMart, Patricia Evans, Linda Flessel, Nicholas Granchelli, Sharon Jean Hewner, Janice Litz, Eugene Nenni, the Rev. Lou Perez and John Reardon.

Niagara Hospice Alliance officers are: chairman, Collins; vice chairman, Mandaville; secretary, Thomas Hewner; treasurer, Shaw. Elected directors are Maietta, Sammarco and Sinclair. Officers of Palliative Home Care of Niagara are: chairman, Maietta; vice chairman, Jamie Johnson, of M&T Bank; secretary, Ken Hatton, of Mount St. Mary's Hospital; and treasurer, John Cipollitti. Directors are Anne Carey and Mary Ligammari.


*Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center has awarded 2011 Junior Volunteer Scholarships to Nicholas D'Angelo, Zoe Flynn and Mitch Milbrand.

D'Angelo, a 2011 graduate of Niagara Falls High School, will enroll this fall in the criminal-justice program at Niagara County Community College. He was a junior volunteer at Memorial for four years.

Flynn, also a 2011 Niagara Falls graduate, will enroll as a chemistry major at the University at Albany. She was a junior volunteer for four years.

Milbrand, a 2011 graduate of North Tonawanda High School, will begin his freshman year as a criminal-justice major at Hilbert College. He was a junior volunteer for four years.

The scholarships, funded by the medical center foundation and auxiliary, are awarded annually to graduating seniors who have volunteered at least two years and 100 hours at Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center or its Schoellkopf Health Center.


There are no comments - be the first to comment