Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Sarah Joyce Genau and Christopher J. Lauricella have joined the Buffalo Prep board of directors. Buffalo Prep is a not-for-profit organization that offers challenging academic programs with scholarship opportunities to economically disadvantaged African American, Native American, and Hispanic students in fifth through seventh grades.

Genau, received her master's degree in English from the University at Buffalo, where she worked as a graduate assistant in the Market and Creative Services Department and currently is a communications specialist at Canisius College.

Lauricella is The Park School of Buffalo's 17th head of school and holds a master's degree in educational administration with a focus in private school leadership.

* * *

Jim Cregg, a graduate of City Honors and current senior majoring in chemistry at the University at Pittsburgh, received College Chemistry Award from the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh at the group's annual awards dinner.

Cregg has been an undergraduate teaching assistant, made the dean's list, received the Rita and David Rossi Scholarship, and performed research on the organic synthesis and drug delivery.

* * *

Two students at Buffalo State College and one at Fredonia State College who are interested in journalism careers have won scholarships for the next academic year awarded by the Greater Buffalo Chapter, Society of Professional Journalists, College Scholarship Program.

The three winners are: Jeremy Izzo of Silver Creek, a senior at Fredonia; Lauren Kirchmyer of West Seneca, a junior at Buffalo State; and Julia Merulla of Liverpool, a senior at Buffalo State.

The scholarship program helps aspiring college journalists in Western New York, northwestern Pennsylvania and southern Ontario.

* * *

The School Administrators Association of New York State held its regional awards ceremony recently at Templeton Landing.

Awards were presented to six administrators for their outstanding work as well as to one community representative as a "friend of education" for exceptional community service in helping children and schools.

Honorees were: Leadership and Support, Deborah Arlington of Erie 1 BOCES; Director/Coordinator, Maria Sommerfeldt of Depew Central School; Assistant Principal, Larry Badgley, of the Tonawanda City School; Elementary Principal, Casey Kosiorek, of Leroy Central School; High School Principal, Joseph Lucenti, of Akron Central School; Educator of the Year, Steven Burley, of Newfane Central School; and "Friend of Education," Glenn Colton, children's singer and performer.

* * *

The Town of Tonawanda Youth Board held its 34th annual award and recognition dinner with Town Supervisor Anthony Caruana and Councilman Daniel Crangle as presenters.

The following awards were presented: The Joseph Allen Service to Youth Award was given to Pastor Dave Rohas; The Robert Smith Award for outstanding volunteer of the year was awarded to Jody McGee; The Youth Engaged in Service "YES" Awards were presented to the top 10 volunteers of the year, Sarah Bissell, Myranda Carrubba, Joshua Glaspy, Britni Carrubba, Dominic Calabrese, Charles Hansberger, Jonathan Glaspy, Rachel Gehring, Hisham Qasas and Emily Zuppelli; recipients of the Outstanding Youth Award were Charles Cryan, Alejandro Perez, Jennifer Renner, Cady Rink, Erica Sava, and Maria Ta. Perez also received the Outstanding Youth of the Year award. Outstanding Youth Board Service awards were presented to Anthony Panepinto, Kenmore West High School, and Kelsie Flynn, Kenmore East High School.

* * *

The Erie County Association of Educational Office Professionals named Brian Schulz, district treasurer for West Seneca Central Schools, administrator of the year. He was presented with the award May 24 during the association's awards dinner at Michael's Banquet Facility in Hamburg.

Schulz, who has been with the West Seneca School District for 22 years, has been instrumental in implementing a number of cost-saving efforts that have helped the district avoid layoffs and maintain core educational initiatives despite significant reductions in state aid.

* * *

Niagara County's Federal Credit Union has presented $250 scholarships to four area high school seniors to help them pursue their higher educations.

Checks were presented to the recipients during the credit union's annual meeting at Lockport's Tuscarora Inn.

Those receiving the scholarships are: Emily Gendrue, a Barker High School Senior who plans to attend Grove City College upon graduation. She is a member of the National Honor Society, active in soccer, swimming, track, and numerous school clubs.

Steven Fisher, who plans on attending Syracuse University after graduating from Wilson High School. Fisher has been a member of the National Honor Society for three years, he was also named a Scholar Athlete.

Jessica Scherrer, a senior at Niagara-Wheatfield High School who intends to pursue a higher education at Niagara County Community College. Scherrer has been a member of the National Honor Society since 2009, she is also active in swimming, musical productions and Concert Choir.

Jessica Oswald, a senior at Starpoint High School who plans to attend D'Youville College. Oswald has been a National Honor Society member for four years. She is also active in track and field, the Model United Nations, the school newspaper, and is president of the Spirit committee, all while also working part-time at Intertech.

* * *

Hilbert College President Cynthia Zane has been elected to the board of trustees of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities, which represents colleges and universities throughout New York state's independent higher education sector.

Zane assumed office as Hilbert's third president in 2006. Prior to becoming president, she served as chief academic officer and dean of the faculty at the College of Mount St. Joseph in Cincinnati.

* * *

Effie B. Adjel of Nardin Academy has won a $2,500 scholarship through the National Merit Scholarship's National Achievement Society Program. She plans to study medicine.

* * *

Eric J. Vasko of Lockport High School has won the National Merit Delphi Foundation Scholarship. Vasko plans to study chemical engineering.

Corporate sponsors provide scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who are residents of communities the company serves, or who plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage. Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year.

* * *

Gowanda Police Officer Jen Alessi has received the General Douglas MacArthur Youth Award, which honors those who help the youth of their communities and mold those children into better citizens.

Alessi is a state-certified school resource officer and DARE officer, and author for the state Department of Criminal Justice lesson plans for missing and abducted children. He also participates in many other activities in the schools and communities.