Share this article

print logo

This Day in Buffalo Sports History, June 23, 2010: Sabres goalie Ryan Miller wins Vezina Trophy

The Buffalo Sabres haven't won a great number of individual awards over the years. Therefore, this was a good day in the history of the franchise.

Goalie Ryan Miller took home the Vezina Trophy from the NHL awards ceremony in Las Vegas as the league's best goalie. He thus joined such names as Dominik Hasek, Ken Dryden, Jacques Plante and Martin Brodeur as winners.

"I'm looking at all these names, and it's pretty amazing, the history on this trophy," Miller said. "To get my name on there is pretty cool."

Meanwhile, Tyler Myers picked up the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookie. Tom Barrasso and Gil Perreault were the only other Sabres to take home that honor.

"It's definitely nice to be put in that group of guys," Myers said. "Even to be put in the group of rookies this year is enough for me. I was just happy to come and be in Vegas, win or lose. So far it's been a great experience. To be able to walk on stage, I'll never forget it."

The awards were rewards for Buffalo's excellent regular season, which featured a division championship.

– Budd Bailey

There are no comments - be the first to comment