Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Achievers and achievements

*Several musicians from Lewiston-Porter were selected to perform with All-County honors ensembles. Sponsored by the Niagara County Music Educators Association, the students were selected to perform based on a rigorous audition process that took place in December. The All-County festival was hosted at Niagara Falls High School and featured the All-County Senior High Orchestra, Junior High Chorus, Junior High Jazz Ensemble and Elementary Band.

Lew-Port students who participated included Shannon Jeffs, Corey O'Keefe, Natalie Bock, Nate Christman, Andrew Fultz, Sam Biniecki, Jack Wall, Madeline Matthews, Brooke McDonald, Sierra Tubinis, Samantha Gregoire, Sarah Andres, Emily Oliverio, Mia Forney, Emily Breniser, Victoria Merletti, Justin Gill, Clare Falkowski, Emma Waechter, Ashley Broderick and John Cimino.

Another group of students also was selected to perform with the All-County Senior High Chorus, Junior High Band and Elementary Orchestra at the second of three All-County festivals in February at Newfane Middle School.

Participating students included Angela Gallo, Emily Mansour, Katie Bobick, Kelsey Jeffs, Kaitlyn Sorenson, Renee Wall, Erin Klettke, Hannah Matthews, Derek Tucker, Kate Mieth, Sarah Andres, Kelsey Oliverio, Ava Lynch, Gillian Gabrielle, Gabrielle Whitehead, Ty Slaugenhaupt, Madison Dunn, Alexis DiCarlo, Dylan Morrissette, Savannah Tyler, Ashley Meagher, Ysabella Stack, Mackenzie Rogers, Loren Milne, Mari Salada, Gabrielle Ieraci, Thomas Blakelock, Liam Mazierski and Stephen Dillon.


*Thirteen Lyndonville students were inducted into the Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society on Thursday, March 3. Lyndonville's NJHS chapter was started in 1973, making this the 38th induction ceremony. Membership in the NJHS has become recognized nationally as one of the highest honors that can be given to a high school student. "Selection into the National Honor Society is based not only on scholarship, but also leadership, service, citizenship and character," said Lyndonville's National Junior Honor Society adviser Elissa Smith. "These qualities do not end with graduation from high school or college, but will help these young people become responsible citizens of the future. "At the March 3 ceremony, Smith listed some of the accomplishments of the inductees. One inductee has had perfect attendance since sixth-grade. Many are involved in athletics, chorus, band and community activities such as 4H, horseback riding and youth group. Congratulations to Lyndonville's 2011 National Junior Honor Society inductees: Leann Balcerzak, Masson Bayne, Jessica Czechowicz, Gabrielle Dusett, JamieLee Griswold, Nicole Heye, Rebecca Hoffee, Morgan Hungerford, Kirsten Nice, Renae Sentiff, Jordan Smith, Jacob Wachob and Haley Wetherbee.


*Air Force Airmen Kala L. Washburn and Benjamin W. Clark recently graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio. Air National Guard Airman Danette C. Kilmer also recently graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base.

All three completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness and basic warfare principles and skills. Airmen who complete basic training earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force. Washburn graduated in 2009 from Wilson High School.

Clark is the son of Michael and Laurette Clark, of Ransomville, and also is a 2009 Wilson High School grad.

Kilmer is the daughter of Daniel Kilmer, of Lewiston, and is a 2009 graduate of Lewiston-Porter High School.


*Catholic Academy of Niagara Falls elementary school students participated last month in the first "Catholic Academy Idol" competition. Students were judged by a panel of "celebrity" judges, who included teachers dressed in character as Steven Tyler, Jennifer Lopez, Randy Jackson and guest Miley Cyrus.

The Best Boys Act, "Rock n' Rollers," comprised fourth-graders Thomas Tedesco, Gadge Choolokian and Ryan Bower. The Best Girls Act was the "Dynamite Divas," comprising fourth-graders Abbygail Felschow, Maya Gandy, Julia Stranges, Amanda Ackley, Asia Richardson and Olivia DeGregorio.

The Best Mixed Act was the "City Kids," fifth-graders Nicholas Marino, Joanna Elledge, Livia Harmon and Alyssa Gara. The Best Solo Act was fifth-grader Jacqueline Tidwell.


*Rachel Ziarnowski, daughter of Ed and Louise Ziarnowski of Wheatfield, received high honors with a 95.2 average for the second semester at Holy Angels Academy.

Rachel plays hockey on the Niagara Junior Purple Eagles Travel Team, as well as on the Monsignor Martin Federation Girls Varsity Team, where she has been one of the leading scorers this inaugural season. She also volunteers at St. Jude the Apostle Church as a lector and is a weekly volunteer with SABAH and St. Luke's Mission of Mercy.


*Air National Guard Airman 1st Class Kyle R. Zastrow recently graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio, Texas.

Zastrow completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.

He is the son of Chris and Lyn Zastrow of Sanborn, and a 2010 graduate of Niagara Wheatfield High School.


There are no comments - be the first to comment