Share this article

print logo

Seeking protection on Wi-Fi

>Q: My Wi-Fi network was set up for me, and it's not password-protected. It connects a Toshiba laptop, a Sony PlayStation 3, a Roku media player -- and, I suppose, anyone else in the area. I do all my banking online and would like to protect myself, but I don't know what to do with all these devices.

Also, how hard would it be to connect my laptop with my Sony Vaio desktop PC so I can access information on each one?

A: The safest way to bank is to connect from a computer that has a wired connection to your Internet modem. While there are several encryption methods that make intercepting Wi-Fi communications difficult, none can guarantee your banking transactions are safe.

But encryption does make sense for lesser transactions made through your PS3 or Roku device, such as game purchases or Netflix log-in information. For details, see tinyurl.com/48578cx.

Your Wi-Fi network already allows you to share files between your computers, provided that you activate Windows file sharing. For Windows Vista, see tinyurl.com/28x93us. For Windows 7, see tinyurl.com/yj9pxfj. For Windows XP, see tinyurl.com/ku6ab.

***

>Q: Whenever I sign out of my e-mail account, I get a message that says, "The current Web page is trying to open a site in your Trusted Sites list. Do you want to allow this?" If I say no, I get a blank screen. If I say yes, I go on to a weather page. How do I get rid of this message?

A: The Internet Explorer browser is giving you the warning, which was designed to prevent malicious code on a Web page from gaining unlimited access to your PC.

There are two ways to fix this.

You could add your e-mail page to your "trusted" websites list; that way you won't be going from a lower level of security to a higher level. To do that, go to IE's Tools heading, choose Internet Options and click the "security" tab. Click the icon for "trusted sites," then click the "sites" button. Put your e-mail sign-in page in the "add" box and click "add," then "close."

Or you could disable the warning. To do that, go to Tools, Internet Options and click the "security" tab. Highlight "trusted sites," and under "security level for this zone" click the "custom level" button. In the resulting list, click "enable" beneath "websites in less privileged Web content zone can navigate into this zone."

There are no comments - be the first to comment