Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

The Niagara Frontier Veterinary Society has elected Dr. James Albert to a two-year term as president. He is the owner of All Creatures Animal Hospital in Amherst and City Creatures Animal Hospital in Buffalo.

Albert earned a dual major in biology and communications from the University of Pittsburgh in 1987 and his doctorate in veterinary medicine from Mississippi State University in 1994. He and his family live in North Buffalo.

Dr. Laura Wade, owner of Specialized Care for Avian & Exotic Pets in Lancaster, will serve a one-year term as secretary-treasurer. She lives in Clarence.

New board members serving three-year terms are: Dr. Peter Freyburger of Brighton Eggert Animal Clinic in the Town of Tonawanda; Dr. Sandy Marky of Countryside Veterinary Hospital in Lockport; Dr. Amanda Schepis of Lancaster Small Animal Hospital; and Stephanie Wolf of Cheektowaga Veterinary Hospital.

Elected to two-year terms were Dr. Susan Mineo of Blue Cross Animal Hospital in Amherst and Stacy Dralle with of Orchard Park Veterinary Medical Center.

Dr. Kevin Kuhn, owner of Afton Animal Hospital, Williamsville, will serve a one-year term.


Amherst Senior Transportation Services Inc. (ASTS), a private not-for-profit organization that contracts with the Town of Amherst to provide transportation to seniors, has elected new officers and board members:

President, Jane Woodward, former Town Board member and liaison to Senior Services; vice president, Jerry Carrel, Amherst attorney; secretary: Pee Gee Coyle, executive director of the Jewish Federation Apartments; treasurer, Karen Mitchell, executive director of Amherst Adult Day Services.

New board members are Sheila Gillert, former secretary of Amherst Senior Citizens Foundation; Karen Lisiecki, director of Amherst Senior Outreach Services; Timothy Trabold, manager of Niagara Regional Transportation Council Transportation Programs; Brenda Ward, Erie County commissioner of Senior Services; Catharine Weiss, former president of Amherst Senior Citizens Foundation; and Lisa Wiedemann, president of Home Instead Senior Care.

Pamela Krawczyk, executive director of Amherst Department of Senior Services, is an ex-officio member of the board and Michael Gibbons is the executive director of ASTS.


Jack C. Anchin, Ph.D, of Amherst, a clinical associate professor in the Department of Psychology at the University at Buffalo for the past nine years, is the 2011 recipient of the Distinguished Psychologist Award, presented by the American Psychological Association (APA) Division of Psychotherapy for contributions to psychology and psychotherapy.

He will receive the award at the APA annual conference in August in Washington, D.C.

In announcing the award, Jeffrey J. Magnavita, Ph.D, chairman of the Awards Committee, cited Anchin's work in "advancing the field through publications, scholarship, teaching, practice and service [representing] a major contribution to the field of psychotherapy and psychology."

Last year, Anchin was named a Fellow of the APA, the 150,000-member professional association of psychologists in the United States.

Anchin conducts a private psychotherapy practice in Snyder focused on individual adult psychotherapy and couples therapy and the application of integrated psychotherapeutic approaches.

Anchin is co-editor of the "Handbook of Interpersonal Psychotherapy" (Pergamon Press, 1982, 1987), widely recognized as a seminal publication in the field of interpersonal theory, research and practice. He has served as editor of a special double issue of the Journal of Psychotherapy Integration, co-editor of a special issue on the unification of psychotherapy and editor of a special section on philosophy and psychotherapy integration.

At UB he provides clinical supervision to doctoral students in the clinical psychology program and serves on doctoral students' clinical comprehensive committees.


Sixteen members of local Boys & Girls Clubs are vying for the title of Western New York Youth of the Year, which recognizes outstanding contributions to family, school, community and their local club, as well as personal challenges and obstacles they've overcome.

This year's winner will be announced Saturday at a ceremony in Asbury Hall at Babeville, in downtown Buffalo. The top three finalists receive a medal and scholarship, with the youth of the year awarded a certificate and medallion, and the opportunity to compete at the state level for another scholarship and a plaque.

The nominees and their home clubs are:

Rebekah Lineberger, Gilmore; Kathleen Usiak, All Saints; Shelby Hartke, Franklin; Zachary Lyman, Town; and Khaliq Brown, Black Rock/Assumption.

Also, Molly Misso, Elma, Marilla & Wales; Abby Swartz, Eden; Paige Nichols, Holland; Celeste DeJac, Buffalo, Southside; Hassan Mussa, John F. Beecher; and Tyler Mona Carpenter, Eggertsville.

And Timothy Broadus, Masten; Kelsey Cole, Orchard Park; Sara Carroll, Rochester; Jake Domes, Springville; and Elizabeth Vail, East Aurora.

There are no comments - be the first to comment