Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up / This week's golf at a glance

>PGA Tour

Event: Bob Hope Classic

Site: La Quinta, Calif.

Schedule: Wednesday-Sunday.

Courses: PGA West, Arnold Palmer Private Course (6,930 yards, par 72); PGA West, Jack Nicklaus Private Course (6,951 yards, par 72); La Quinta Country Club (7,060 yards, par 72); SilverRock Resort, Palmer Course (7,553 yards, par 72).

Purse: $5 million. Winner's share: $900,000.

TV: Golf Channel (Wednesday-Friday, 3-6 p.m., 9 p.m.-midnight; Saturday-Sunday, 4-7 p.m., 10 p.m.-1 a.m.).

Last year: Bill Haas won the rain-delayed tournament for his first PGA Tour title, birdieing the final hole for an 8-under 64 and a one-stroke victory. Haas' father, Jay, won the 1988 tournament.

Last week: Mark Wilson won the Sony Open in Hawaii, shooting 65-67 in the 36-hole finale Sunday for a two-stroke victory over Tim Clark and Steve Marino.

Chip shots: U.S. Ryder Cup players Matt Kuchar, Bubba Watson, Jeff Overton and Stewart Cink are in the field. David Duval shot a 59 on the Palmer Course at PGA West in the final round of his 1999 victory. Joe Durant set the PGA Tour's 90-hole record in 2001 with a 36-under 324 total. Arnold Palmer won the inaugural event in 1960 and added victories in 1962, '68, '71 and '73. The final round will be played on the Palmer Course at PGA West. The Farmers Insurance Open is next week at Torrey Pines in San Diego, followed by the Phoenix Open and the Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.



>PGA European Tour

Event: Abu Dhabi Golf Championship

Site: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Abu Dhabi Golf Club (7,510 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2.7 million. Winner's share: $450,000.

TV: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m., 1:30-3:30 p.m.).

Last year: Germany's Martin Kaymer won the tournament for the second time in three years, birdieing the final hole for a one-stroke victory over Ian Poulter.

Chip shots: Major champions Kaymer, Phil Mickelson, Graeme McDowell and Louis Oosthuizen are in the field along with top-ranked Lee Westwood, Poulter, 2007 and 2009 winner Paul Casey, Padraig Harrington, Retief Goosen, Rory McIlroy, Francesco and Edoardo Molinari and Italian teen star Matteo Manassero. Oosthuizen won the Africa Open two weeks ago in South Africa.



>Champions Tour

Event: Mitsubishi Electric Championship

Site: Kaupulehu-Kona, Hawaii.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: Hualalai Resort Golf Club (7,107 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.8 million. Winner's share: $305,000.

TV: Golf Channel (Friday, 6:30-9 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-3 a.m., 7:30-10 p.m.; Sunday, 1:30-4 a.m., 7:30-10 p.m.; Monday, 1:30-4 a.m.).

Last year: Tom Watson won the season-opening event, birdieing the final two holes for a one-stroke victory over senior newcomer Fred Couples.

Chip shots: Bernhard Langer, the three-time defending player of the year, won the 2009 tournament. He led the tour last season with five victories. Couples won four times last year in his first season on the 50-and-over tour. The 42-player field features major champions from the last five years, other tournament winners in the last two seasons and eight sponsor invitees. Jack Nicklaus designed the Hualalai course. The Champions Skins Game is next week at Royal Kaanapali.

There are no comments - be the first to comment