Share this article

print logo

Around & about

Niagara hockey posts road win

Niagara topped American International, 3-2, in men's hockey in West Springfield, Mass. With 5:52 left, Bryan Haczyk scored the game-winner, his second goal of the game. In net, Chris Noonan made 34 saves for the win as Paul Zanette scored NU's other goal.

On the winner, Haczyk broke free and roofed the puck over the goalie's shoulder. For Niagara (12-7-2), it was an important win.

"Haczyk's goal was a big-time goal at a time when we definitely needed a lift," Niagara coach Dave Burkholder said. "It was a good road win."

The two teams meet again tonight.

Elsewhere, Buffalo State (7-7-2) used a four-goal third period to finish off Johnson & Wales, 5-1. Trevor McKinney scored twice for the Bengals.

In women's hockey, three freshmen scored to lead Niagara to a 3-0 win at Wayne State. It was NU's first shutout since beating Quinnipiac four years ago.

Jessica Hitchcock, Kaleigh Chippy and Kristen Richards all scored for the Purple Eagles (5-12-4, 2-2-1 CHA). In net, Jenni Bauer stopped all 27 shots she faced.


Buffalo State swimmer sets marks

Buffalo State sophomore Kaitlin Mergler (Sweet Home) set two school records in her team's 111-60 win over Wells College at Kissinger Pool on Friday. Mergler broke the 200-yard IM record by .02 seconds with a time of 2:19.37. She then went on to shatter the 500-yard free mark by more than four seconds, finishing in 5:19.55.

The women took first in all 11 events, while the Bengal men touched first in nine of 11 events. Rob Erickson (Iroquois) won the 200-yard free (1:53.17) and 200-yard back (2:06.16). For the women, Ashley Eddings (Niagara Falls) won the 50-yard free (27.23) and 100-yard free (59.79).



* Nasser Al-Attiyah of Qatar drove his car and Marc Coma of Spain rode his bike without any major problems in Friday's next-to-last stage of the Dakar Rally, setting themselves up for victory today in Argentina. Al-Attiyah finished 6 minutes, 11 seconds behind the winner and defending champion Carlos Sainz of Spain to take third in the 12th stage.

* Studies commissioned by the United States Postal Service estimated the agency received at least three times the value of the $32 million spent sponsoring Lance Armstrong's cycling teams in their heyday. Armstrong won the Tour de France for seven straight years (1999-2005). The studies estimated the value of the sponsorship increased yearly, peaking at $34.6 million in 2004.

From News and wire service reports.

There are no comments - be the first to comment