Share this article

print logo

Reorganization shakes up key panels

Several boards and committees -- most notably the Planning Board and the Modern Citizen Advisory Committee -- felt a shake-up following the town's reorganizational meeting.

Supervisor Steven L. Reiter maintained the new appointments made last week were not political and pointed out that he and the Town Board tapped some people he knew disagreed with his position that the town should approve an expansion at Modern Landfill.

"That's my checks and balances," Reiter said. "If I wanted to strictly take out people who disagreed with me, I could have had Mr. [William] Waters taken out. My board decided not to accept the Modern proposal."

In addition to Waters, Richard Haight, who will serve as chairman, Ryan Hanna and Paul Hutchins will remain on the advisory committee.

Some committee members expressed bitterness last fall, maintaining that Reiter and the Town Board had shut them out of deliberations on the proposed landfill expansion. Critics included Vincent DiMarco, the former committee chairman, who resigned in protest.

"Mr. DiMarco sent a letter to his board members asking them to resign," Reiter said. "They had a real negative attitude. They never offered any positive solutions."

The Town Board delayed a decision on landfill expansion last November, after a standing-room-only crowd showed up at a board meeting to oppose the move; Modern Corp. withdrew its expansion request shortly after the meeting.

Committee members Eugene Dimet and Keith Fox also resigned. Patricia Schultz was not reappointed.

The Town Board chose to fill only two of the four vacant seats, with Dawn Timm of Meadowbrook Drive and Gary Townsend of Sanborn.

Reiter called some of the arguments of the previous Modern Community Advisory Committee "far-fetched" and said that committee's suggestion to renegotiate the entire Modern contract to allow expansion was "a foolish statement to make."

Also last week, the Town Board unanimously reappointed all members of the Chemical Waste Management Citizen Advisory Council, with the notable exception of Amy Witryol. Witryol, who recently ran an unsuccessful campaign against State Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was reappointed by a 3-2 vote, with Reiter and Town Councilman Michael Marra dissenting.

Reiter, a Republican, also appointed Jeffrey Williams, whom he called a good friend, to fill a seven-year term on the Town Planning Board, replacing Diane Roberts, the Town Democratic Party chairwoman who had sought a reappointment. William Taczak, of North Fifth Street, was appointed to fill the unexpired term of the late Joan Wolfgang, and he will serve through 2014.


There are no comments - be the first to comment